Domain propagation?

yes I am a noob, so bear with me

yesterday I purchased the domain that you can see in my signature

The host company said it can take 48 hours for it to propogate? I am of the understanding that means it will take 48 hours to appear on the internet. How will I know if its up online. Will they email me? I can see it myself, but Im pretty sure thats cos I am the owner of the site and logged into my Control Panel

Sorry for the very SIMPLE questions.

There's no real "definitive" way of knowing that your domain has propagated to every DNS server available.

If you can see it, chances are good that it's propagated to you.

Essentially, you can assume it's propagated everywhere within 48 hours.

The way people explain this is usually misleading to a "noob".

The 48 hours is how long the domain name will be cached for. For example, if I looked up that domain name now the router in the basement would keep your hosts answer for upto 48 hours.

If the answer changes and I look it up again, I might get my cached answer, or my router may have dropped the cache and I'll get the new answer.

If it's a new domain and no one has ever looked it up.. like in this case, there will be no caches and it should be online right away..

When I register a new domain name I check the root servers (and instruct my computer NOT to cache any answer) every few mins until it is live, this can be a quick as 5-10 mins.

Then if any one else looked it up at that point it would be live.

Your domain is live for me BTW, interesting idea, but I can't say I'll be donating

You should be careful. You site concept sounds a lot like a pyramid scheme.
    If we do not plant knowledge when young, it will give us no shade when we are old.
    Lord Chesterfield

Quote Originally Posted by AmyWilliams View Post
    It's nothing like a pyramid scheme. He's offering to pay the top donors if certain levels are reached. A pyramid scheme requires active participation....