* Niche That Has Been Overlooked......

I work in the healthcare industry and what I have come to realize is that for some reason the hosting/dedicated/colo community and the healthcare community have yet to truely be introduced.

I say this because it even seems that the IT employees within the hospitals/ASC's/Physician Practices don't seem to realize that there are alternatives to what they are currently doing. I will give you a couple of examples...

I was doing a one year contract as a CFO with a hospital in OK. They used "yahoo" and "hotmail" as their email addresses and hosted their website with the local ISP. There are two IT employees and this was ok with everyone. Didn't matter that there was no professional feel to getting an email from the CEO/CFO of the company that could not even have their own domain email.

Example 1 - When I came on I got us a server with server matrix and then we had our own website hosted on our server, we had our own email and were able to install some software on our server instead of with a vendor that we were paying roughly $600 a month with.

Example 2 - I am currently a regional vice pres with a healthcare company in Nashville. Hospitals purchase Healthcare Information Systems (HIM) from vendors that sale them servers and also colo and maint to servers. I have a hospital in OKC that we are paying this HIM vendor $4,000 a month for colo and maint. I just took over this hospital and my mouth dropped. They current CEO/CFO did not realize that they could take their server colo somewhere and pay a fraction of the cost and have the HIM vendor still be able to maintain the software remotely.

Not sure if anyone is even still reading this...

I want to bring these two industries a little bit closer... I need help educating the healthcare industry that they don't have to use these fat cat vendors that are completely ripping them off...