Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    688

    help tracing server load

    I need help tracing what is causing a high serer load (25-30% cpu usage average).

    Using cpanel 11 / centos 5 / php 5 / mysql 5 / phpsuexec

    Code:
    [email protected] [/proc/8052]# ps waux | grep -c exim
    28
    [email protected] [/proc/8052]# 
    [email protected] [/proc/8052]# ps waux | grep -c exim
    27
    [email protected] [/proc/8052]# ps waux | grep -c mysql
    3
    [email protected] [/proc/8052]# ps waux | grep -c httpd
    46
    [email protected] [/proc/8052]# ps waux | grep -c php
    3
    I am having a hard time tracing who/what is causing the high load
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails 1.gif   2.gif   3.gif   4.gif  

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Mass.
    Posts
    56
    "/usr/bin/php index.php" seems to be the biggest offender.

    Each one of the processes is taking roughly 20-30% of your CPU according to top.

    Perhaps some very inefficient php scripts?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    58
    Check your access-log with user got high CPU usage at overload time You can know what's happenned.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    688
    Quote Originally Posted by mpjetta View Post
    "/usr/bin/php index.php" seems to be the biggest offender.

    Each one of the processes is taking roughly 20-30% of your CPU according to top.

    Perhaps some very inefficient php scripts?
    That doesn't help since I'm already aware of this, however I'm trying to trace the actual user/script causing this.

    Quote Originally Posted by ASVJSC View Post
    Check your access-log with user got high CPU usage at overload time You can know what's happenned.

    Nothing unusual, tailed it and barely any action.

  5. #5
    You can always try `pstree` and see what process create the "/usr/bin/php index.php" process.

    Good luck
    Sitek XEN Hosting - Reliable VPS Hosting

    CRM OnDemand - Fully Managed / Customized vTiger Hosting

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    688
    why is it appearing this way??
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails 1.gif  

  7. #7
    hahahaha.
    try with -A or -G

    Depend on your terminal.
    Sitek XEN Hosting - Reliable VPS Hosting

    CRM OnDemand - Fully Managed / Customized vTiger Hosting

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    688
    Same problem. Using Secure CRT

  9. #9
    Ah, same as me, lucky you.

    Goto Session Options > Terminal > Emulation.
    Select Linux Terminal with ANSI Color checked.

    That is my setting and it work fine. Try it.
    Sitek XEN Hosting - Reliable VPS Hosting

    CRM OnDemand - Fully Managed / Customized vTiger Hosting

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •