Best Credit Card Company to Go With?

Yes, it's that time in my life when I decided to finally get a credit card. This thread isn't to berate me for deciding to get one, or to convince me otherwise.

I'm trying to decide which card is the best to go with. I've already checked with the bank I use for my checking, and their interest rates are 0% for the first 6 months, but around 20% or so after that (with a clause stating they reserve the right to go even up to 29.9%!).

To me, that's way too high, and I'm not willing to pay almost 1/3 of my money just for a convenience. So here's a little info:

I'm a student (college)
    Live at home
    I'm pretty sure I don't really have any credit
    I live in NY (not the city, but upstate).

Hopefully somebody here has some experience with credit cards.

Your best bet (IMHO):

Get a parent or someone who you trust (a lot) and have them get a card with you are a co-signer. In this you can get a better APR, while it still boosts your credit score. This point in your life you need to start building credit. Any credit at this point if important.

I'd also recommend getting a few "store" cards, such as Wal-Mart, The Home Depot, Sears, Target etc... Start with one.. put about $20.00 on it every month or so, but make sure to pay it off. Then go to the next card, put $20.00 on it every so month.. etc.. etc...

With you having no credit, you can apply for a very high APR student credit card. But at this time I would strongly recommend boosting your credit score before you get a credit card with an APR higher than 15%. I would recommend anything below 15% APR with no annual payments.
    -----------------------