Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: .raq file?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    1,799

    .raq file?

    Ok I am moving my site, and I thought rather than move 70 MB of stuff via FTP, I'd to go to the control panel for a back up, so I could just FTP a zip or tar file, and open it up on the new server.
    Ok so I made a back up and it's called something.raq.
    What the heck do I do with a .raq file?
    Oh, yeah by the way, I am not moving to a raq. I am moving to a *nix.
    DANG DANG! DANG!!
    I know ***** ripped off everybody else, but they wouldn't do it to me.
    "When you use bottom feed for bait, you are only going to catch bottom feeders."
    "You do what you are, and you are what you do."

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Posts
    596
    What you need is to download the remove .raq header script from sourceforge. (Its a perl script)

    Run the .raq file with the .raq header script to remove the headers on a Nix system and you will end up with a tar file called output.tar

    You will be able to uncompress that file with most uncompressors.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    1,799
    Thanks.
    That sounds good, but I can't find there.
    DANG DANG! DANG!!
    I know ***** ripped off everybody else, but they wouldn't do it to me.
    "When you use bottom feed for bait, you are only going to catch bottom feeders."
    "You do what you are, and you are what you do."

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Posts
    596

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    1,799
    WOW! Thanks.
    Now does anybody know how to use it?
    DANG DANG! DANG!!
    I know ***** ripped off everybody else, but they wouldn't do it to me.
    "When you use bottom feed for bait, you are only going to catch bottom feeders."
    "You do what you are, and you are what you do."

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Posts
    596
    Ive done it 6 times. .raq files are just plain horrible and stupid.

    Prepping the header-raq.tgz file

    gunzip header-raq.tgz

    File becomes header-raq.tar

    Untar it.

    It iwll become some .pl file.


    Place the .raq in the same folder of the .pl file.

    type: ./something.pl XXXXXXXXXXXXX.raq


    You will get an output, such as a tar file.
    ie: out.tar

    now untar that file and voila!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Posts
    596
    Oh forgot something.

    I think .raq file contains some of cobalt's directory structure too.
    ie: mail

    You will have to move around and delete folder and files.
    Im not too sure, but than again, for moving from servers, from a cobalt to a nix server, I prefer just to tar up the whole website into one file instead of using the crappy .raq backup util.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    1,799
    I would love to tar the whole site, but they don't allow telnet anymore. I was told to use Cpanel, but my account is so old, (3 years) that I don't even have Cpanel, just some cobalt thingy that only creates emails, and makes backups. I have grown to like the simplicity of this RAQ, but now I need a few features this host does not have.
    Heck, in trying to use this .pl scipt, I found I had to change the name to .cgi, and they are in the same folder, but I just couldn't figure out how to run header-raq.cgi against the .raq file.
    This whole thing is making me feel stupid.
    I always have a recent and total backup of my site on my HD, the problem is, I have a project folder in just about every directory with experiments, original (unedited) images, notes, ect. and thought it would just be eaiser to tar the site online, then untar it on the new server.
    I alos tried FlashFXP, but no go.
    Thanks, again for every ones help.

    I'll give this header thing one more try, then I guess it's back to the old fashioned "control > select > FTP > wait for hours > then test" thing.
    DANG DANG! DANG!!
    I know ***** ripped off everybody else, but they wouldn't do it to me.
    "When you use bottom feed for bait, you are only going to catch bottom feeders."
    "You do what you are, and you are what you do."

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Posts
    596
    Hmmmm............ you have to run the .raq file under any unix /linux system. Doesnt work in windows.

    If you dont have a linux box sitting or dual boot with Linux win workstation, then its kinda of hard to remove the headers.

    But anyways, I think you are stuck with downloading your whole website and re-uploading it.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    1,799
    I don't do windoze!
    I uploaded both files (header-raq.cgi and the mysite.raq) to my nix server. How do I make the header file run the mysite.raq file?
    DANG DANG! DANG!!
    I know ***** ripped off everybody else, but they wouldn't do it to me.
    "When you use bottom feed for bait, you are only going to catch bottom feeders."
    "You do what you are, and you are what you do."

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Posts
    596
    You execute the perl script just like any perl script.

    ./hearderremover.pl raq4lahblahbah.raq

  12. #12

    I got 2gb of back up raq file

    I got 2gb of back up raq 4 file, will it work too using the "stripheader-raq3.pl" ?

    Can I somehow uncompress it, break it into pieces?

    The back up file is *20040411-0426.raq

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    here
    Posts
    1,568
    See is the host is nice enough to tar your whole /home directory for you. Then leave the home.tar in the html directory for you to download or ftp.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •