What security is needed on a VPS hosting a single personal site ?

Hello everyone,

My personal blog has been getting quite a few hits recently, for a shared hosting environment to hold it. It runs Wordpress 2.3 and a customized theme. I use Gmail and hence the server's Email is not used.

Now, I plan to buy a VPS ( preferably a slice ) and am planning to move my site onto it. I'll be frank with you, I've never worked on a VPS before. So for the first week or two, I want to spend time customizing the VPS environment and securing it. Mine will be the only site hosted on it and a Control Panel, if any installed, will be Plesk.

I was going through the VPS Tutorials section of the site and really liked the tutorial on securing your VPS.
    Now, I'd like to know what amount of security would be needed for my VPS ? What all should I be implementing to make sure my VPS is secure ?
    Some tips / advices would be really appreciated.

Remember, I'll be hosting only my blog. I'll require FTP, SSH, PhpMyAdmin and Awstats running, other than the obvious services.

Could someone here guide me in the right way ?

Thanks and Regards,

Deep Deo.

change ssh port to none standard port. Install pureftp. Keep you scripts upto date. Shut off mail service. Secure PHP as much as possible. This would be a good start I guess.

Have you considered going for a shared hosting a/c in someone else's VPS? How many hits do you get a day?

You can even go for a managed VPS rather than break your head over securing, updating, etc.

@hsphereclub:
    Thanks. You've answered the "what to do" part and I appreciate that. But could you, if possible answer the "how-to" part too ?

@minipro:
    I did give it a thought. But I've always wanted to handle a VPS myself and learn new things. And well, for everything, there's always a first time. With Slice's backup solutions, I could very well restore the image if I mess up
    Managed VPS are a tad costly.. though.

Thanks