Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    95

    Server Cluster Setup Help

    Ok,

    I have started to move my websites over to my UK Colocation But would like a little guidence on what the best solution would be.

    I would like to build up a Server Cluster that will handle all of my sites really and also have redundancy, so If 1 server goes down the other Web/SQL/Whatever server will be used instead.

    I have websites ranging from large forums to streaming & download websites.

    Should I got for a setup for example:

    X Web Servers + X Database Servers
    Connected to X Storage (see link below)

    Connecting the Web Servers in something like a a round robin config or use a Load Balancer / Other


    OR Should I setup multiple:
    Web Server + Database Server + Media Server


    OR another config?


    Below are my current setups

    Current UK Setup (Colocation)

    Web Server
    Quad Core, 8GB Ram, 250gb HDD Raid 1
    Quad Core, 8GB Ram, 250gb HDD Raid 1 (just ordered)

    SQL Server
    Quad Core, 4GB Ram, 250gb HDD Raid 10

    Storage Server
    HP StorageWorks NAS 1200s 1TB (just Ordered)
    Link: http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.d...MEWA:IT&ih=018

    -

    Current US Setup (Dedicated Servers)

    Web Server
    Quad Core x2, 8GB Ram, 3TB HDD

    SQL Server
    Quad Core x2, 8GB Ram, 1TB HDD

    Media Server
    Quad Core x2, 8GB Ram, 3TB HDD
    Dual Core, 4GB Ram, 3TB HDD

    Backup Server
    Dual Core, 2GB Ram, 1TB HDD


    Thank you for your time.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    3,375
    Hi

    IT sounds like your config idea is good and what allot big hosts do. its best not to put everything on one server. Load balance.

    IE

    Have X number of servers/virtual servers

    Load X servers with just IIS
    Load (ie) 2 servers with DNS, one as primary one as secondary
    Load X servers with SQL Server
    etc

    Then use a control panel (like helm) to manage all the machines and load balance it.

    So when a domain is added in helm, the DNS goes on both machines, IIS setup on another machine, Email on another, DB on another etc.

    This way if (ie) a DNS server went down, the website would still work as the secondary DNS will still be up. Unless using web farms, if the IIS server goes down/rebooted, it wont effect other services like Email/Webmail etc as they are on seperate servers.

    This setup we have used for years and it works!
    Cyber Host Pro Ltd - over 10 years in the UK hosting industry.
    Website Hosting | Reseller Hosting | Cloud VPS Servers | Dedicated Servers
    ★ WhiteLabel OnAPP Cloud VPS Reseller Program, Failover, 10Gbit SFP+ Dual SAN storage with Cpanel, Plesk & Windows server.
    www.cyberhostpro.com - UK Call Centre + 24x7 Online Chat

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    95
    This will give a better indication of what im looking to do, here is an email I just sent:

    Im still a little confused, on how the setup will work for the
    web servers & streaming,

    This is how I thought it would work,

    Web Servers, would read from the Storage server and serve the websites and
    media, so the load would be on the Web Servers, But a friend on mine tells
    me this is note the case,

    He said it will work like this.

    Master Web Server, will constantly sync with Slave web servers to serve the
    websites (each web server will have the entire copy of the websites?)

    Then I will need Media Servers that will also be setup as above? to server
    the media out and the NAS that I purchased is usless and should be used as
    Backup Storage.


    Please could you explain further to me how the setup would work based on my
    hardware as Really I would like it something like this:

    Multiple Web Servers, Connected to the NAS which would contain the websites
    and media data so the Load would be on the Web Servers?

    As if its the first solution how its setup I have about 2TB+ of Media so I
    would need to purchase another 2 servers of similar spec to the Web Servers
    and put in each of them 2TB of hdd space.?

    Please would let me know how to setup would be setup and how it would work
    so I can be clear and know what other hardware I may need to purchase.

    Thank you for your time.

    Current UK Setup (Colocation)

    Web Server
    Quad Core, 8GB Ram, 250gb HDD Raid 1
    Quad Core, 8GB Ram, 250gb HDD Raid 1 (Going to Order)

    Load Balancer
    2x Coyote Point E350si (Ordered)

    SQL Server
    Quad Core, 4GB Ram, 250gb HDD Raid 10
    Quad Core, 4GB Ram, 250gb HDD Raid 10 (Going to Order)

    Storage Server
    HP StorageWorks NAS 1200s 1TB (Ordered)

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Reston, VA
    Posts
    3,132
    Quote Originally Posted by ContemptX View Post
    He said it will work like this.

    Master Web Server, will constantly sync with Slave web servers to serve the
    websites (each web server will have the entire copy of the websites?)

    Then I will need Media Servers that will also be setup as above? to server
    the media out and the NAS that I purchased is usless and should be used as
    Backup Storage.

    Whoever told you that works.. sure it works if you have a small site/operation but doesn't scale very well. Our largest cluster just borke 7TB of content.

    Don't use a control pnael. Please don't.
    Don't rsync data, you'll drive yourself crazy with trying to keep data in sync.. especially if you have user submitted content.

    Use a NAS devices if you can that can fit your needs and scale with you. Whoever said NFS doesn't work well is full of them selfs, we have a NFS device pushing well over 1.5Gbps without skipping a beat ever and this is using normal 1500MTU's not jumbo frames.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    73
    Both ways are possible. You can rsync like your friend suggested but this is highly undesirable. Sort of a poorman's load balancing setup.

    NFS as Spudstr suggested is a good option as well as GFS (contrary to some opinion). I have setup both a GFS and NFS clusters before. The LBs were 2 P3 LVS machines with multiple WEB front-ends hooked up to GFS or NFS.

    The short story is, there are many ways to setup a Highly Available environment, but only one may work with your budget/needs.
    Tersum - High Availability VPS Solutions
    http://www.tersum.com
    (877) 883-7786

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    1,027
    Can I ask how do you need so much Ram on a web server? What is it that consumes that much Ram?

    If you're going to be using Windows and IIS with MSSQL then you're going to also need a session state machine to enable you to have more than one web server.
    You could just use Windows NLB to get you started, no need for dedicated load balancers I wouldnt have thought.

    What kind of switch have you got? Or is it supplied as part of the colo?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •