Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thinking of starting a new Data Center

I am thinking of starting a new data center in Irvine, CA. Now before you guy's go bashing, I am not thinking of starting something with 4-5 racks for my hosting company in the closet in a 400 sqft office, I am thinking of starting a full blown data center. Heres the cost's I've factored in already, what I am looking for is people to let me know if a) They think that there is a market for this (I have done research, most data centers in Orange County are over priced, I plan on offering the services at an affordable rate.)

What's needed:
    Warehouse/Office Space(all in one): $4,000 monthly
    2x 1GBPS connection's: $46,000 Monthly (Yes this is not much for a data center, but we figure we should use what we can afford before trying to get more, no sense paying for 2x10gbps connections if you don't need them yet!)
    Racks: $1,000 each
    Improvements to the Office/Warehouse: $10,000 (I'm also a contractor so I can cut cost's that way)
    Dedicated Servers: $1000-3,500 each(Yes, I plan on offering dedicated servers as well.)
    Switches, and other hardware: $10,000
    Security: $5,000 (installing a camera system, bigger locks with fingerprint access, plexy glass windows, etc.)
    Other Office Equipment: $10,000 (computer's, phone system, etc.)
    Total Startup Fee: $65,000x20%=78,000(this includes 20 full lockable racks, 15-20 servers with backup parts on hand, and 20% extra for any extra things that come up.
    Total monthly cost:$51,000 + Staff salary's (I plan on having a small staff at first, 1 tech per shift.)

Total Startup funds: $200,000. (running cost's for the first few months included + extra money to get more racks etc. as we get more customers)

What do you think? Is there anything major I left out here? I plan on hiring a network engineer to help me set everything up.