Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    516

    high server load / high swap / lots of httpd

    I have a cPanel server with 4GB RAM

    My server hangs time to time, once or twice a day. This is the last status when it happens.

    Server Load 75.90 (2 cpus)
    Memory Used 92 %
    Swap Used 65.78 %

    When I was still inside SSH when it happens, the processes I can see inside "top" are a lot of httpd processes.

    So I "killall -9 httpd", I had to do it 30~40 times

    #killall -9 httpd
    #killall -9 httpd
    #killall -9 httpd
    x 30~40 times until no pid process found & the server load is back to normal.

    Before that, I check httpd fullstatus, they look very normal, same goes to what I see inside WHM Apache status & cpu usage status.

    At first I thought it was a memory problem after consulting with a server admin, so I replaced all 4GB new ram stick (such a waste)

    Anyway, have anyone experience the same thing before and how do you advise?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas
    Posts
    797
    wow, may i ask. What are your server for?

    forum, shared hosting, etc ?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    516
    shared hosting, few forums running.

    i have few servers hosting many forums, doesn't make a difference. my server admin told me the situation looks normal and still haven't suspect anything yet.

    i am still waiting for next high server load to check the httpd pid inside /proc

    meanwhile, any helpful experience or solution is appreciated.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas
    Posts
    797
    what mods you have and apache series (1.x, 2.x)?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    516
    Apache = 1.x. All my other servers is also on 1.x

    It just happened again minutes ago.


    I had to kill httpd over 50-60 times when server load goes 120.x high.
    [[email protected]]# killall -9 httpd
    [[email protected]]# killall -9 httpd
    [[email protected]]# killall -9 httpd
    httpd: no process killed

    I am recompiling php now to see if that helps

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas
    Posts
    797
    did you add any mods like (Zend or EA) both together works great decrease loads by half. Apache 1.x is ok but should really upgrade to the latest 2.x series.

    Can you tell me a little more about your server specs?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    516
    Yes, server has Zend. Upgrading to 2.x won't help in my opinion looking at the situation, my admin agreed too.

    This machine is quite new. Pentium D 2.8Ghz, 4GB RAM, 160GB HDD

    Any helpful way you have in mind what should I check into? i'm still recompiling php now.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    New York, NY
    Posts
    10,574
    Quote Originally Posted by hbhb View Post
    Yes, server has Zend. Upgrading to 2.x won't help in my opinion looking at the situation, my admin agreed too.

    This machine is quite new. Pentium D 2.8Ghz, 4GB RAM, 160GB HDD

    Any helpful way you have in mind what should I check into? i'm still recompiling php now.
    Just adding Zend alone won't do much, have you tried eAccelerator?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    India
    Posts
    661
    what about the active semaphores... ? just check using,

    ipcs -s
    SparkSupport.Com - The Premier Tech Company
    Cloud Solutions|Email Infra setup|VOIP|Video Streaming|Software Development
    Email: [email protected] Phone : 1- 408-600-1449 | Skype : shijils

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    516
    Quote Originally Posted by SparkSupport View Post
    what about the active semaphores... ? just check using,

    ipcs -s
    ------ Semaphore Arrays --------
    key semid owner perms nsems
    0x00000000 622592 nobody 600 1

    mind to tell me what are these means?

  11. #11
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    India
    Posts
    661
    Yeah, it's the snapshot of active Semaphores, too many semaphores may cause memory-starvation due to the locked up resources !

    And here, couldn't find any such problem..
    SparkSupport.Com - The Premier Tech Company
    Cloud Solutions|Email Infra setup|VOIP|Video Streaming|Software Development
    Email: [email protected] Phone : 1- 408-600-1449 | Skype : shijils

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Spain|Catalonia|Barcelona
    Posts
    18
    Intalling Zend Optimizer and Eaccelerator, proving changue to cache Eaccelerator from 512 mb.

    eaccelerator.shm_size="16"

    changue to

    eaccelerator.shm_size="512"

    And very most important no overselling in servers.
    Last edited by Ferlix; 02-21-2008 at 10:22 AM.
    "Security Through Obscurity" Linux most advanced operating system.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    516
    my server php & mysql was updated. no more high load in the past 20 hours so far.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •