Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: yum RHEL5 help

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    196

    yum RHEL5 help

    What should I put to yum.conf to get this working?
    YUM is installed, but I can't get yum.conf setup correctly.

    [main]
    cachedir=/var/cache/yum
    debuglevel=2
    logfile=/var/log/yum.log
    pkgpolicy=newest
    distroverpkg=redhat-release
    tolerant=1
    exactarch=1

    But what should I put to [base] and [updates].

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    WebHostingTalk
    Posts
    16,966
    If it is Redhat Enterprise, you can use up2date.


    Net
    Specially 4 You
    .
    JoneSolutions.Com ( Jones.Solutions ) is on the net 24/7 providing stable and reliable web hosting solutions and services since 2001

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    196
    Quote Originally Posted by Net View Post
    If it is Redhat Enterprise, you can use up2date.


    Net
    Looks like up2date is not installed

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    42
    If the servers correctly registered with Redhat you shouldn't need to play around with config files.

    my yum.conf
    Code:
    [main]
    cachedir=/var/cache/yum
    keepcache=0
    debuglevel=2
    logfile=/var/log/yum.log
    pkgpolicy=newest
    distroverpkg=redhat-release
    tolerant=1
    exactarch=1
    obsoletes=1
    gpgcheck=1
    plugins=1
    metadata_expire=1800
    
    # PUT YOUR REPOS HERE OR IN separate files named file.repo
    # in /etc/yum.repos.d

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    196
    Quote Originally Posted by TVLm View Post
    If the servers correctly registered with Redhat you shouldn't need to play around with config files.

    my yum.conf
    Code:
    [main]
    cachedir=/var/cache/yum
    keepcache=0
    debuglevel=2
    logfile=/var/log/yum.log
    pkgpolicy=newest
    distroverpkg=redhat-release
    tolerant=1
    exactarch=1
    obsoletes=1
    gpgcheck=1
    plugins=1
    metadata_expire=1800
    
    # PUT YOUR REPOS HERE OR IN separate files named file.repo
    # in /etc/yum.repos.d
    With that file I get:
    yum check-update
    Insufficient server config - no servers found. Aborting.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    42
    have you registered the server with RHN?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    196
    Quote Originally Posted by TVLm View Post
    have you registered the server with RHN?
    Don't know, this is a virtual server.
    How can I check or register?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    42
    hmmm when you say virtual server is it Xen or Virtuozzo? If Xen the server will need it's own license from Redhat (from my understanding) if virtuozzo etc not too sure!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    196
    Quote Originally Posted by TVLm View Post
    hmmm when you say virtual server is it Xen or Virtuozzo? If Xen the server will need it's own license from Redhat (from my understanding) if virtuozzo etc not too sure!
    it is made with HSPCOMPLETE, so it is virtuozzo

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •