Results 1 to 18 of 18
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    44

    Exclamation My dedicated server is dead

    Hi guys, i need someone to help me with my server. Its gone completely dead, cant access WHM or cpanel. But i can access SSH. A reboot doesnt make any difference either.

    2nd option can I back up cpanel accounts on the server? What dir are they in? BEcause i can easily transfer them to another server.

    Thanks in advance

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Austin, Texas
    Posts
    272
    Are any other services running besides ssh? Exim, PureFTPD, Apache?

    ps ax | grep httpd
    ps ax | grep exim
    ps ax | grep ftp

    telnet localhost 21
    telnet localhost 25
    telnet localhost 80
    ██ HermeTek Network Solutions
    ██ Network design, security, and implementation
    ██ BSD & Linux consulting, training, and hosting
    ██ https://www.hermetek.com | 1.866.235.1288

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Austin, Texas
    Posts
    272
    Also, you have to configure backups yourself if you want to move the sites using a "just move files" method... The accounts are stored in more than one place (/var/lib/mysql, /home).

    I'd recommend (roughly) following this:
    http://www.webhostingtalk.com/archiv.../t-232162.html

    But in order to do it over the network, you would have to change the rsync commands slightly:

    rsync -vrplogDtHe "ssh -Cc blowfish" /mnt/old/usr/local/apache/conf <destination ip>:/usr/local/apache
    ██ HermeTek Network Solutions
    ██ Network design, security, and implementation
    ██ BSD & Linux consulting, training, and hosting
    ██ https://www.hermetek.com | 1.866.235.1288

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    NJ, USA
    Posts
    6,456
    Try running something simpler.

    /scripts/upcp --force
    simplywww: directadmin and cpanel hosting that will rock your socks
    Need some work done in a datacenter in the NYC area? NYC Remote Hands can do it.

    Follow my "deals" Twitter for hardware specials.. @dougysdeals

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Your Screen
    Posts
    3,998
    Open a ticket with your data center. If your server is unmanaged, open a ticket with your server administrator/server management company.

    If you don't have a server administrator, hire one immediately. Servers don't run themselves, as you've discovered ............

    Bailey
    Let's Connect on Twitter! @thatsmsgeek2u || Fighting mediocrity one thread at a time.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    44
    Quote Originally Posted by hermetek View Post
    Are any other services running besides ssh? Exim, PureFTPD, Apache?

    ps ax | grep httpd
    ps ax | grep exim
    ps ax | grep ftp

    telnet localhost 21
    telnet localhost 25
    telnet localhost 80
    Thanks, on running the above i got


    3508 ? Ss 0:00 pure-ftpd (SERVER)
    3511 ? S 0:00 /usr/sbin/pure-authd -s /var/run/ftpd.sock -r /usr/sbin/pureauth
    14587 pts/0 S+ 0:00 grep ftp

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    44
    I think ive found the error


    [email protected] [/]# httpd status

    Looking up localhost
    Making HTTP connection to localhost
    Alert!: Unable to connect to remote host.

    lynx: Can't access startfile http://localhost/whm-server-status

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    NJ, USA
    Posts
    6,456
    again, try /scripts/upcp --force.

    the /scripts folder is handy.
    simplywww: directadmin and cpanel hosting that will rock your socks
    Need some work done in a datacenter in the NYC area? NYC Remote Hands can do it.

    Follow my "deals" Twitter for hardware specials.. @dougysdeals

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Your Screen
    Posts
    3,998
    What happens when you restart Apache?

    Bailey
    Let's Connect on Twitter! @thatsmsgeek2u || Fighting mediocrity one thread at a time.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    44
    Quote Originally Posted by Dougy View Post
    again, try /scripts/upcp --force.

    the /scripts folder is handy.
    Hi ive tried that, seems to do some good by updating cpanel


    I dont think apache restarts at all.


    Is it possible to live all the user on accounts on the server or back them up?

  11. #11
    Restart apache with command

    service httpd restart

    from ssh prompt.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    44
    Quote Originally Posted by flashwebhost View Post
    Restart apache with command

    service httpd restart

    from ssh prompt.

    I do that and got: httpd not running, trying to start


    Also got a bunch of this


    Warning: DocumentRoot [/home/live/public_html/ACCOUNT NAME] does not exist
    Warning: DocumentRoot [/home/live/public_html/ACCOUNT NAME] does not exist

  13. #13
    Send a ticket to cPanel and see if they can fix your WHM installation.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    US
    Posts
    308
    Quote Originally Posted by Ecchi View Post
    Send a ticket to cPanel and see if they can fix your WHM installation.
    Or hire a server administrator who can help you.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    44
    Ok looks liked im scr*wed.

    Well I spent the last hour and a half messing with this server because it wasn't secured properly and finally was able to get it to where it would let me change the password. Apparently someone thought it would be funny to put password on the bootloader and modify bash and change a whole bunch of other things which make it very difficult for me to do a simple password modification from INIT 1.


    I've enabled iptables to prevent everything except for SSH on port 22 because this box has been seriously rooted and it needs to be backed up and reformatted.




    I disabled IP tables to try and get a back up and the websites still wasnt working. Any help?

    Quote Originally Posted by No1Resource View Post
    Or hire a server administrator who can help you.
    Do you know anyone? I want this done ASAP.

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    WebHostingTalk
    Posts
    8,878
    * Moved to Technical and Security Issues....

    Sirius
    I support the Human Rights Campaign!
    Moving to the Tampa, Florida area? Check out life in the suburbs in Trinity, Florida.

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    California
    Posts
    3,051
    Dre, so is Cpanel/WHM down because you firewalled out all of the ports other than port 22, or did you do that after? Were you trying to access WHM and Cpanel via the domain.com/cpanel or domain.com/whm URL's instead of directly accessing the ports? I'm not clear on your problem or what you've done or why? You might not need to reload the system.

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Austin, Texas
    Posts
    272
    Give me the output of just "mount".
    ██ HermeTek Network Solutions
    ██ Network design, security, and implementation
    ██ BSD & Linux consulting, training, and hosting
    ██ https://www.hermetek.com | 1.866.235.1288

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •