Thread: Web-Hosting?

Unhappy Web-Hosting?

Hey, I'm kinda new to all this...

Not really sure what packages,web-host thingy.
    Needs to come with a domain, and Pay yearly.~

Also looking to make abit of $$. By ads or somethink?
    I plan to host forums or a site or somethink.

Sorry if you dont understand. im new to this.

Try the WHT wiki on hosting. It's a good place to start finding some answers.

http://www.webhostingtalk.com/wiki/

First I would decide what you actually want to host.

Many hosts take yearly payments, check out the offers section.

The only way you could make money with ads would be to use google adwords, or a similar service.
    MK Hosting - Reliable Affordable UK Hosting Since 2005
    www.mkhosting.co.uk
    Shared Hosting - Reseller hosting - Dedicated Servers - VPS - Colocation - IT Services

First, you need a domain name. Be sure to find a suitable one.
    Then, go to some reliable and cheap registrar (I usually recomend Godaddy.com) and buy it. I suggest to pay for 2 years.
    You need to choose hosting But wait - if you want to earn some $, you should invest. Invest your time: read WHT. Soon you will find hosts to avoid (many many negative reviews; more negative, than positive reviews; very contravesial reviews: 50 'very bad', 50 'super cool') and host to think about (many positive reviews or positive reviews prievail).
    Think about resources and do not be greedy If you gonna host forum - find similiar forums, get information anout how many disk space and bandweith they use. OR you may even ask there. Or google. In other words - find that info. When you know your resources - time to think about money.
    Do not be greedy and remember: you get whay you pay for.. Normally you should expect at least 5-10$ (prices may vary). All "pay 100$, host for life", 1 dollar hosting" and other stuff is highly avoidable.
    At this step, you should have: both domain name, knowledge on resources and budget.