Thread: mobile phone

mobile phone

Does anybody use a mobile phone to monitor their servers?

What monitoring software do you use?
    What phone do you use?
    Any other advice?

I am very new to mobile phone. I only have a land line.

Thanks.

We and all my friends are using their own custom solutions. Everything depends on you needs.

BTW, Seems that you're the last man in the world without a mobile phone

Quote Originally Posted by beow View Post
    We and all my friends are using their own custom solutions. Everything depends on you needs.

BTW, Seems that you're the last man in the world without a mobile phone
    I never caught on to mobile phones until now. But now it seems like a good idea to know when something goes wrong.

One that I found is Nagios:

http://www.nagios.org/products/notification/aql/

But I hear Blackberry is popular because it is 'always on'. Has anyone heard of server monitoring with such a device?

Thanks.

Blackberry has had a couple of major outages lately:

http://abcnews.go.com/Business/story?id=3052158

Anyway, whenever one of our servers has trouble - Nagios sends an alert to my admin, myself, our server monitoring guy and 2 of our techs via email to cell phone.

--Tina
    ||| 99.999% Uptime SLA!!!
    Plenty of space and bandwidth to fit your needs!
    www.AEIandYou.com - - (WP Friendly - Premium Reseller Hosting and Cheap Dedicated Servers)

I use SiteUptime to do the monitoring, and when something goes down, it just sends the alert to an offsite e-mail address which forwards it to my Blackberry. This can be done with just about any type of phone as well.
    ColoInSeattle - From 1U to cage space colocation in Seattle
    ServerStadium - Affordable Dedicated Servers
    Come visit our 18k sq ft. facility in Seattle!
    Managed Private Cloud | Colocation | Disaster Recovery | Dedicated Servers

HTC Touch with Windows Mobile 6.