Results 1 to 21 of 21
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    3,448

    OpenVz install via SSH

    Can someone post a link to a good documentation on how to install OpenVZ via SSH on a Red Hat Enterprise 5 system?

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Coimbra, Portugal
    Posts
    236
    There is a quick install guide in OpenVZ wiki
    http://wiki.openvz.org/Quick_installation

    and for 64Bits
    http://wiki.openvz.org/Install_OpenV..._Centos-Fedora


  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    3,448
    Thanks I already looked that info. But isn't that guide to install if you are with hands on hardware?

    I dont want to erase the current OS Red Hat since i dont have a KVM and i will not be able to log in again.

    Is that guide based on SSH remote install?

    I was interested in Virtuozzo actually but my provider told me i cannot split licenses between server. That means 10 license has to be on the same server if i did not get wrong that part. I just need a VPS for testing purposes and to separate 2 websites. I looked Xen and that did looked you needed to install it from the CD. I need as fast, affordable and good VPS solution and i though about OpenVz since i can migrate to Virtuozzo in the future right?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    1,506
    nibb, you can install openvz remotely. You just need to load the kernel for openvz and you are good to go. I just installed a openvz machine last night remotely
    tanfwc
    Singapore Managed Colocation
    Singapore BGP Announcement

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    5,083
    Have you considered installing a panel like hypervm? I believe it is free for the first 2 vps instances but it is a very easy install and leaves you with a GUI to manage the vps instances after the fact.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    3,448
    Thanks all for the replies. Yes i was interested in HyperVM but i have not heard good feedbacks from them here in the forum. Like that they dont give support and even sales takes weeks to reply.

    OpenVZ doesnt has graphic interface?

    Can i move from OpenVZ to virtuozzo in the future?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    6,601
    OpenVZ is command line only so to do anything you have to comfortable using SSH. HyperVM isn't that bad and support was a bit glitchy but definitely picked up in the last few weeks. Currently its free for the first 5 licenses I believe.
    Russ Foster - Industry Curmudgeon

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    174
    Quote Originally Posted by nibb View Post
    Can someone post a link to a good documentation on how to install OpenVZ via SSH on a Red Hat Enterprise 5 system?

    Thanks
    It really isn't difficult, especially if you want to use HyperVM, which is an excellent application.
    There is a clear guide on http://lxlabs.com/software/hypervm/install/ , if you need help, send me a PM and I'll install it for you if you like.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    255
    #INSTALL OPENVZ
    cd /etc/yum.repos.d/
    wget http://download.openvz.org/openvz.repo
    rpm --import http://download.openvz.org/RPM-GPG-Key-OpenVZ

    yum install ovzkernel
    yum install vzctl vzquota
    #reboot
    yum install vzpkg vzyum vzrpm43-python vzrpm44-python
    yum search vztmpl

    cd /vz/template/cache/
    wget http://download.openvz.org/template/...minimal.tar.gz
    ComfortHost.NET. Top quality hosting. And a personal touch.
    ** web hosting ** reseller hosting ** VPS ** Managed Servers **

  10. #10
    i suggest you go with the HyperVM/LxAdmin solution, it is much more easier to install and manage the VPSes.
    HalfDedi.com Half Dedicated Half Price
    We provide affordable VPS hosting solution Singapore datacenter

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    3,448
    Well I installed OpenVZ from the command line. Does that mean im screwed now to install HyperVM?

    I just dont understand something. Is HyperVM a virtualization system or just a control panel?

    It says this on HyperVM
    HyperVM will currently install the openVZ/Xen kernel

    I would really would love a graphic interface.

    I also would like HyperVM because my billing software support it. I just done understand what it is anymore? A control panel for OpenVZ? A control panel for hosting? A control panel for all of this?

    Thanks all for your help. I dont like OpenVZ so much about putting limits to accounts. Its all in the command line. Even when im reading the whole manual i did created a VPS and it works but i cannot log in via SSH from the outside. I used a CentOS 4 template.

    If i decide now to go with HyperVM should a do a clean on the system?

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    3,448
    Well I took the risk and just followed the link you gave me:
    http://lxlabs.com/software/hypervm/install/

    This think is great. I even installed a webserver and mysql and stuff i did not got so far. It also installed several templates.

    Gladly i already had OpenVZ installed and changed the boot loader i dont know if it was because of that but HyperVm installed in 5 minutes and runned out of the box (after rebooting) i could access the control panel right away. It doesn let me do anything, it complains about a license, is this a VPS control panel?

    If so this THINK is GREAT. I will test it and buy a license right away. This what i was looking for, a control panel and visual interface.

    You are all so great. I visited the HyperVM website 100 times in the past, in this last 2 years. I just never understand what it really was. Know i think i understand it. Its not a VPS system but lets you run one. This is even greater since i really wanted to use HyperVM and OpenVz. It seems i can run both !!!

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Toronto, Ontario
    Posts
    1,449
    Quote Originally Posted by nibb View Post
    Can i move from OpenVZ to virtuozzo in the future?
    I know that you can't move Virtuozzo to OpenVZ using the vzmigrate. You would have to do it manually.

    As for provisioning this remotely, why not ask the server company to install it for you? We always set up the OpenVZ nodes fresh with the proper partitions first, then work on installing the kernel/tools.
    Kaumil P.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    3,448
    After some sleep I decided to test HyperVM and how well it works. Well it creates VPS. Thats for sure. But this is what i noticed so far:

    Hostinabox doesnt create the LXadmin panel.
    It seems it doesnt assign IPs to the VPS. I cannot find any documentation on HyperVPS at all. It seems they are very lacking of manuals of guides. It must be a problem of not having assign the IPs. And yes the IPs are on the server and they are working. Just the VPs are created without then it seems.

    Second problem. I can log into the VPS via Putty. But it seems the SSH protocol for the VPS have problems. If you try to connect via IPswitch you get an error and it doesnt connect. I really need this to transfer files and configs since i hate "vi"

    Other problem seems i cannot find templates for OS.
    It seems strange i cannot find a OS with ISPconfig on it or Plesk already installed from a trust website not just from the internet. I would be crazy just to use a template i found on the net, who knows whats inside those files.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    174
    Quote Originally Posted by nibb View Post
    Hostinabox doesnt create the LXadmin panel.
    LXAdmin isn't free, you can get it at 50 dollarcents per VPS.

    Quote Originally Posted by nibb View Post
    It seems it doesnt assign IPs to the VPS. I cannot find any documentation on HyperVPS at all. It seems they are very lacking of manuals of guides. It must be a problem of not having assign the IPs. And yes the IPs are on the server and they are working. Just the VPs are created without then it seems.
    They're not assigned in your Host installation I hope? You can't add an IP to your host and guest.
    You can create an IP pool in HyperVM and when you're setting up a VM you can say how many IP's that VM can get from that pool, or you can assign them manually.
    Further, are you sure the DNS servers/gateway/subnetmask are configured properly?

    Quote Originally Posted by nibb View Post
    I really need this to transfer files and configs since i hate "vi"
    Use rsync with your own computer?

    Quote Originally Posted by nibb View Post
    Other problem seems i cannot find templates for OS.
    It seems strange i cannot find a OS with ISPconfig on it or Plesk already installed from a trust website not just from the internet. I would be crazy just to use a template i found on the net, who knows whats inside those files.
    What is so strange about that? It is also strange that I can't find windows OS templates with a 100 domain plesk license on it together with BF2 and CSS server installed and configured on it, isn't it?

    Plesk isn't free and SWSoft EULA doesn't allow to install it, even not without a license file.
    ISPConfig is just some random controlpanel, like there are a couple of hundreds like. You can't expect to find a template for every control panel there is, and this has nothing to do with HyperVM itself I think.
    You can create your own VPS templates you know.

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    3,448
    You are wrong.

    HyperVM is free for 5 VPS. After that you buy licenses.

    Plesk is free for 1 domain. After that you buy licenses.

    If im looking for a Plesk template its because i have several licenses to use on them.

    I just created my own OsTemplate after i installed plesk on a VPS.

    I find LxAdmin a very good panel, just to tricky for novices. Its very good for expert users but Plesk is really just better to sell hosting.

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    174
    Quote Originally Posted by nibb View Post
    You are wrong.
    We're not planning to start an "Am"/"Am not" game, are we?

    Quote Originally Posted by nibb View Post
    HyperVM is free for 5 VPS. After that you buy licenses.
    Where did I say you need to pay for HyperVM? Its LXAdmin that isn't free.

    Quote Originally Posted by nibb View Post
    Plesk is free for 1 domain. After that you buy licenses.
    With extremely limited functionality, correct, but I think you still didn't read their EULA.

    Quote Originally Posted by nibb View Post
    If im looking for a Plesk template its because i have several licenses to use on them.
    Use the 'create os template' function, wherein you can convert an existing vps into a template which can be used for further vps's.

    Quote Originally Posted by nibb View Post
    I find LxAdmin a very good panel, just to tricky for novices. Its very good for expert users but Plesk is really just better to sell hosting.
    Plesk isn't always clear like a charm either you know.

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    3,448
    You need to be so defensive.

    I think LxAdmin is great panel for VPS account. Plesk is great for dedicated box or very big VPS.

    LXadmin installed with CentOs5 and panel running takes 40 RAM only. Plesk running without a single website already takes 250 Ram.

    That makes a point dont? LxAdmin is specically designed to be run inside a VPS and im impressed with the functions it has. Some of them that are not even avaible in Plesk. So LxAdmin is great product indeed. I just was saying that is more focused on IT or Admins not on end customers. Of course with some little modifications and a good manual is can be used for end users as well. The problem is that both products HyperVm and LxAdmin are very lacking in respect documentation. Sw Soft has a strong point there. If LxAdmin and HyperVm where completely language translation capable and had good documentation it would take a really mass market away from other vendors.

    Of course until Sw Soft now Paralles decides to buy them to cut them off the market like they always do.

  19. #19
    LxAdmin and HyperVM also lack on its UI. They should make improvement on this area to make their product better.
    HalfDedi.com Half Dedicated Half Price
    We provide affordable VPS hosting solution Singapore datacenter

  20. #20
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    root
    Posts
    870
    Quote Originally Posted by markhard View Post
    LxAdmin and HyperVM also lack on its UI. They should make improvement on this area to make their product better.
    Just look at it this way lxadmin is $0.50 per license cPanel is $15 Plesk is around $15 per license... its cheap but it works
    Nick Rose | BudgetVM
    BudgetVM Xen VPS with Solus
    Asia and Europe Hosting Specialists
    LA to Asia <150MS | Amsterdam within Europe <60MS

  21. #21
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    3,448
    Yes that is true. The price is very good. I hope it stays this way

    Most companies once they are very popular just raise the prices. LxAdmin is cheap because it doenst have a big market use.

    As for Plesk dont forget that Plesk comes almost for free if you use Virtuozzo. Its expensive with a server but if you order Virtuozzo with Plesk Sw Soft almost gives it away for nothing.

    It would be nice to know what HyperVM can do that Virtuozzo cant and the other way around.

    As for VPS i most tell you all that i dont see it much future the way servers are today. Its nice to have a way to move fast from server to server and backup a whole system. But its still a shared system in someway.

    Server are very low now. VPS are expensive in licensing the softwares.

    I have made calculations from the start to end and i dont see how i would possible say money with the Virtuozzo and Plesk prices.

    It costs more or less 10$ just in licenses per VPS.

    VPS are good if you are splitting mega monster servers in 20 VPS, otherwise it doesnt approach a low end server.

    In the end a full VPS server where all users use there VPS just leaves you with the minimun RAM and CPU and that for the price of a low end server. I dont want to enter into the discussion that a VPS is better then a low end server. It doesnt since the hosting industry still has to make money. And they have to split a server, and make money of it. So the % will be a little more expensive then a normal server mainly because of licenses.

    I also notice that domains in VPS take 2 to 4 seconds to respond. Where domains inside a normal server respond right away.

    I have tested that on 200 domains. The domains on VPS each of them differents hardware nodes take some seconds to send the initial query reply.

    There is no question about that many people dont care about that but i will never believe that a software running inside a software is better then a software running directly to a hardware.

    Have you ever tested virtualizations on a desktop before, they suck. They are very slow. And that is exacly why not one of us are playing games inside a emulator or virtual environment or use or office PC inside a VPS.

    This works well for hosting that doesnt require stress applications to be run but not in real computing.

    Virtualization just adds more expenses to licensing. And after 2 years that big monster hardware is nothing worth anymore.

    Its cheaper to me to go out and buy 5 PCs then buy 1 and virtualize them

    The only real reason i see why people in the hosting business are using and loving VPS is because they have deal this way with abusive websites that consume to much resources. In a VPS each customer just eats what he pays and that is perfect. Still i think its very unpractical for people that only run 1 site and need a VPS, they need their own Mysq, Apache etc.

    When a company invents a control panel that mixes virtualization with shared hosting VPS are dead.

    What i mean is a control panel that creates little VPS for each account but they all stil share in some way the same hardware and basic softwares like MySQL. I would see it more in a way not as virtualization but a control panel that limites CPU and RAM to a customer not matter what he uses.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •