Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    325

    * Which to choose? Opteron 180 or E8400?

    Please help me decide

    Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 Wolfdale 3.0GHz 6MB L2 Cache LGA 775 65W Dual-Core Processor
    4 GB RAM
    2 x 36GB 15k RPM SCSI HDD (No RAID)

    - or -

    AMD Opteron 180 Denmark 2.4GHz 2 x 1MB L2 Cache Socket 939 110W Dual-Core Processor
    4 GB RAM
    8 x 36GB 15k RPM SCSI HDD (RAID 10)

    If you were to choose between the two?

    Thanks in advance.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Posts
    318
    What are you going to be using this server for? Need more details to suit you with best solution.
    Richard Perez | PureWeb
    Dedicated Servers - cPanel Web Hosting - cPanel Reseller Hosting
    6 Nationwide Locations. 100% Network SLA. Established in 2007. True 24/7/365 Support.
    Follow us on Twitter: @purewebtech. Network POPS in: LAX - CHI - DFW - NYC - SEA - ATL

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    325
    It's a server that's going to be home for an IPB forum and about 4 wordpress blogs. So PHP and MySQL.

    The price of the two are almost the same. I'd love the RAID 10 for my IO problems with my previous server but the processor is not that great. So I was thinking if I get a better processor and just separate the DB to a 2nd HDD which are both SCSI. Would that help me with the IO or the one with the RAID 10 is better?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    1,902
    kafloofen, Option 1 loocks more better.
    I little bit confused with HDD option for server with such huge CPU/RAM options
    Last edited by ~ServerPoint~; 02-08-2008 at 05:01 AM. Reason: spelling
    ServerPoint.com - a true hosting company offering online presence solutions since 1998.
    >>Web Hosting, colocation, dedicated servers and virtual private dedicated servers.
    >>>>Wholly owned multi homed network, servers and facilities.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    San Jose, CA.
    Posts
    1,622
    I'd take the Opteron system based on the disk differences alone.
    Daved @ Lightwave Networking, LLC.
    AS1426 https:/www.lightwave.net
    Primary Bandwidth: EGIHosting (NLayer, NTT, HE, Cogent)
    Xen PV VPS Hosting

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Posts
    318
    very much agreed, if your doing this for web bases only with those requirements, #2 will do you just dandy.
    Richard Perez | PureWeb
    Dedicated Servers - cPanel Web Hosting - cPanel Reseller Hosting
    6 Nationwide Locations. 100% Network SLA. Established in 2007. True 24/7/365 Support.
    Follow us on Twitter: @purewebtech. Network POPS in: LAX - CHI - DFW - NYC - SEA - ATL

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    /dev/null
    Posts
    3,696
    I would say it depends on the space you will use... 70GB enough: Intel, 70GB not enough: AMD

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    325
    Quote Originally Posted by vipeax View Post
    I would say it depends on the space you will use... 70GB enough: Intel, 70GB not enough: AMD
    Could you elaborate on this some more.

    What's the relation of space needed with the brand of processor?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    /dev/null
    Posts
    3,696
    Well, the Intel is a lot faster (I used to have an Opteron 170 as my own processor and now an E8400 for testing so I know the difference in speed ), so if you don't need that much space, I would get the E8400 so you can run anything CPU intensive if you ever need it.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    325
    Ahh I get it.

    The Intel is obviously faster but high iowaits have always been my problem in the past servers that I've used. My goal here is a server that can hold up to the MySQL processes. So do you guys think the 2 X 36gb SCSI (separate web server and MySQL) can do it?

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    2,574
    I think you need more disk throughput than CPU. RAID 10 is a must. I would take the AMD with 2 RAID-10 arrays or RAID-1 + RAID-10
    Last edited by dotHostel; 02-08-2008 at 09:14 AM.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    325
    Thanks for all your replies

    So I guess I'll be going with the RAID 10 then

    Wish me luck


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •