Thread: newbie help

newbie help

i am new to this seen and needing a few questions answered..

firstly i wish to purchase a domain name where is the best place to do this? and does where i purchase it affect where the domain can later be sold in the future.

Secondly once having purchased the domain i need a web host i require very little storage and i am on tight budget who would be best for me?

Thanks for any help

Where you purchase the domain does not affect where the domain can later be sold. You can transfer domains to different domain name registrars than the one you purchased it from.

Keep an eye out for an ICANN-accredited registrar, and you should be safe
    DILIGENThost.com, Canadian hosting based on high-availability w/ 24/7 bilingual (French) support & 100% uptime -> Toll free phone support
    cPanel/WHM 11 + Fantastico, PHP4&5, Private nameservers, Unlimited domains & features, Self Serve DNS...Shared / Reseller / VPS / Dedicated | Webmasters-Inside.com - Come join our new webmaster forum!

get a domain from namecheap.com and avoid hosts who sell 600GB of space for $6.00/month.

my advice: namecheap.com and then its your choice

I advice godaddy.com for domain purchase.
    As for webhosting - try totalchoicehosting.com. Worked with them for several years, no complaints and the budget is ~4$ monthly if you pay for 1 year.

Tucows for domain name registration.
    And do not agree with statement about domain name registrar and web hosting provider. I think you simple have to make sure that web hosting account and account for domain names are separate things and you are owner your domain name (its under your control)
    BTW what are your requriments for space and bandwidth?
    ServerPoint.com - a true hosting company offering online presence solutions since 1998.
    >>Web Hosting, colocation, dedicated servers and virtual private dedicated servers.
    >>>>Wholly owned multi homed network, servers and facilities.

Hi,