hosted by liquidweb

Go Back   Web Hosting Talk : Web Hosting Main Forums : Web Hosting : Web hosting / VPS suggestions

Forum Jump

Web hosting / VPS suggestions

Reply Post New Thread In Web Hosting Subscription

Send news tip View All Posts Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-06-2008, 04:15 PM

Question

Web hosting / VPS suggestions

Hello, everyone!

I currently have a dedicated server I'm paying $149/month for. I originally thought with my design business I should have a dedicated server to handle my email and web hosting. I'm relatively new to Linux administration, but I set it up using Apache, MySQL, Postfix, etc. It "seems" to be working, and I haven't gotten blacklisted.

Anyway, I'm looking to cut my costs, so I'm switching servers. I'm moving my clients domains to another web host. That's all going well. I pay $20/month for a ton of space and bandwidth (through 1and1).

What I would like are some recommendations on a web host/VPS solution for my my own personal site. It has a 450 MB MySQL database, about 50 MB of web files, and does quite a bit of email. It handles about 5k unique visitors and 20k - 25k page views per day. It also uses Open Ads as the banner displayer, so I need the power (and permission) to handle all of this.

So are there any suggestions from you more experienced users on the best way to go? Are their web hosts that will host it under a cheap plan? Or should I go a VPS route? If so, any suggestions on what might be suitable (RAM, CPU, etc)?

Also, I'm not a spammer, but I have a mailing list for members (about 22k) that I send out on a infrequent basis (say twice a month). It would be great if the host would allow me to also send these out via my web site. It is an opt-out list.

TIA for any feedback.

Sponsored Links
Old 02-06-2008, 04:33 PM
Junior Guru