Question PHP BB 2.1 questions....

Heya Everyone.... I'm a fuctional webhosting company, but i'm having some php Bulletin board issues.... Can anyone help out here?

THanks,

Dedric

I can help. Can you say more about the "problem?"

What are the issues? I am far from a phpbb expert but I have a couple sites running it and have ran into a couple issues.. mainly with the installation part..

yes the instructions, say that you have to assign open permissions on a certain file...but Seemingly i cant find the instructions or the file i'm supposed to change teh permissions on exactly.. So i' kind of perplexed here...

The installation part of this ..is kind of a "bitch" if you'll pardon the expression....

chmod the ascii files to 755. There's a user's guide and installation sheet at phpbb.com here: http://phpbb.com/guide/phpBB_Users_Guide.html#section2

Hope that helps.

Cool TY...

The only file that you should need to chmod to install phpBB is config.php. It only needs to be writable by the web server while the install runs. Once you're done installing, you can set it back to 644.

The install writes db info etc. into the config file.

Frank
    Umbra Hosting
    cPanel | Softaculous | CloudLinux | R1Soft | Ksplice
    Web Hosting, Reseller Hosting, VPS, Dedicated Servers, Colocation
    UmbraHosting.com

okay...It might help to explain that i'm running this on a Win2k server ..not a Solaris box..where i would need to use the commands Chmod or anything like that.. but I do understand what chmod means...tho heh...

Moving on....I've chmod'd the file permissions on the congfig.php file...I"ve created a systme db in ms access that forums can use.. and its still not working for somereason...any ideas here?

Thanks,
    Dedric
    www.dark-knights.org
    www.killerweb-hosting.com
    www.shinjukudev.com

I could be way way off but I was under the impression phpbb was a *nix only thing..