webhost for student orgs

Hi everyone, i have a few extremely newbie questions. I need a website for my college student organization. It probably won't get a lot of traffic except for people within the club. This may change later on but I am just starting the club.

I want the website to have a upcoming events and just pretty general information that everyone in the club can access. The website needs to be extremely easy to update. What exactly do I need to do to get this set up? I have no knowledge about this except that I know that I need to build a website and choose a host.

Anyone have any tips on what the easiest way to set up this type of website, and any specific hosts? I would greatly appreciate it if someone can help me out. Thanks!

Hi Pakman

Welcome to WHT.

I find there are 2 things that make building a website extremely easy.

1) Wordpress, you can learn this in hours. It's an on-line blog that you can update on the fly. It has calendar plug-ins, chat scripts, and all kinds of neat things. Publishing an article is quite easy.

2) Joomla, Drupal are CMS scripts (Content Management Systems). They are not quite as easy as Wordpress but do a more variety of tasks. You can basically publish articles, set calendar dates, run a forum, etc, etc. The learning curve is slightly higher.

I'd say Wordpress will get you up and running the quickest.

As a student organization, you can probably get student/non-profit discounts as well.

Good luck in your search.
    :: iMountain.com Solar Powered Hosting - Same location for 20 years
    :: Clustered, HSphere, Webhosting, VPS, Dedicated and Luxury clusters
    :: Specializing in Database clustering and optimization for vBulletin, Joomla and Wordpress sites.

In case you want to keep the hassle to a minimum, you do not need a website. You can go to facebook ... make a group, add photos, organize events, etc.