Results 1 to 30 of 30
  1. #1

    MediaLayer 9 month review.

    I just thought I'd pop online and give some positive feedback on my host - MediaLayer. I signed up with them 9 months ago after ByteFortress started to show some signs of going south. Where can I begin?

    • The setup was painless
    • The support is instant and top notch (Gurpreet Virdi knows all? )
    • My sites are ALWAYS fast (www.reality-check.ca)
    • Downtime is virtually non-existant and if it does occur I am notified well before hand


    I could go on but I don't think there is a need. If you need a host, these guys should be on the top of your list, no question. Having run a forum for the last five years I've seen my share of hosts. I know how hard it is trying to find a good host and how much of a risk is involved when choosing a host. If your experience with MediaLayer is anything like mine, they completely take the stress out of the hosting aspect of running a site

    My lord, you'd think I was on their dime. That's enough out of me

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    484
    I second that!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    410
    I want them to offer fully blown VPS plans!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    484
    I heard that they were looking into it.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    140
    The space and bandwidth they are offering is very very little.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    CT, USA
    Posts
    607
    I guess it would seem "very very little" to people hosted at companies that offer impossible amounts of disk space and bandwidth for equally impossible cost. But MediaLayer offers realistic disk space and bandwidth at a cost (from seeing past reviews) matches their services. Good review and keep up the good work MediaLayer!
    SwiftModders - Professional Web Design Services & WHMCS Themes
    Web Designs catered to web hosting and software providers!
    Check out the top-rated WHMCS Admin Panel Theme by SwiftModders

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Amex & Amex
    Posts
    1,276
    I agree, they are great


  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    1,167
    Quote Originally Posted by AH-John View Post
    I guess it would seem "very very little" to people hosted at companies that offer impossible amounts of disk space and bandwidth for equally impossible cost. But MediaLayer offers realistic disk space and bandwidth at a cost (from seeing past reviews) matches their services. Good review and keep up the good work MediaLayer!
    Frankly, for what they offer the cost is cheap. People say "why not just order a dedicated server at that price (when you get to 50+)", but the answer is because you can't get quad or octo cores with 8gb ram or however much they use for $50 per month.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Amex & Amex
    Posts
    1,276
    Quote Originally Posted by taylorwilsdon View Post
    Frankly, for what they offer the cost is cheap. People say "why not just order a dedicated server at that price (when you get to 50+)", but the answer is because you can't get quad or octo cores with 8gb ram or however much they use for $50 per month.
    Also, it's not that easy nor cheap to find such a great hands on team

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    140
    I've tried them by the way, they are good but not the best. My FTP account (browsing files through SmartFTP for example) is much faster in my Myriad Network (myriadnetwork.com) account than my account with MediaLayer.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Los Angeles, California
    Posts
    1,369
    Their prices are a bit pricy compared to some other hosts but just from looking at their site and some reviews I guess it's worth it since their hosting and support is quality. Plus they are one of the few DirectAdmin hosts out there .
    Rageki Web Hosting Solutions - Canada & United States Web Hosting
    DirectAdmin & cPanel Control Panels
    99% Uptime!
    30 Day Money Back Guaranteed!

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Amex & Amex
    Posts
    1,276
    Quote Originally Posted by EEssam View Post
    I've tried them by the way, they are good but not the best. My FTP account (browsing files through SmartFTP for example) is much faster in my Myriad Network (myriadnetwork.com) account than my account with MediaLayer.
    Where are you located, couldn't your geographical location play a role? MediaLayer depending on the server you were placed could have been in CA or NY.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    140
    I'm from Canada.

    EDIT: I think the difference in speed is because of the server load. myriadnetwork.com server load average from what I see is always below 0.25
    Last edited by EEssam; 01-27-2008 at 04:48 PM.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    New York, NY
    Posts
    10,574
    BootsSiR,

    Thank you for your kind words.

    EEssam,

    If you're having FTP speed issues, please contact us directly and we would be happy to help.
    MediaLayer, LLC - www.medialayer.com Learn how we can make your website load faster, translating to better conversion rates for your business!
    The pioneers of optimized web hosting, featuring LiteSpeed Web Server & SSD Storage - Celebrating 10 Years in Business

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    140
    Quote Originally Posted by layer0 View Post
    If you're having FTP speed issues, please contact us directly and we would be happy to help.
    I'm not having any issues. Just saying it could be faster

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Amex & Amex
    Posts
    1,276
    Quote Originally Posted by EEssam View Post
    I'm not having any issues. Just saying it could be faster
    So contact them and maybe they'll get it faster

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    New York, NY
    Posts
    10,574
    Quote Originally Posted by EEssam View Post
    I'm not having any issues. Just saying it could be faster
    FTP speed is heavily dependent on latency which is primarily affected by distance from the server. You also haven't provided any quantitative results but only an observation. For those reasons, I personally don't see this to be a fair comparison. Furthermore, a fair amount of our customers use SSH to navigate their account which is much more efficient than FTP for that purpose (not to mention more secure).

    If you want us to investigate this further, please contact us directly.

    Thank you.
    MediaLayer, LLC - www.medialayer.com Learn how we can make your website load faster, translating to better conversion rates for your business!
    The pioneers of optimized web hosting, featuring LiteSpeed Web Server & SSD Storage - Celebrating 10 Years in Business

  18. #18
    Essam,

    I have been both a myraidnetwork customer and a current medialayer customer. They are both top notch but I kind of wonder about your speed claims so I went and did a few tests:

    From Slicehost (St. Louis, MO)
    [[email protected] ~]$ wget http://layer6.medialayer.net/16mb.test.file.zip
    --16:08:08-- http://layer6.medialayer.net/16mb.test.file.zip
    Resolving layer6.medialayer.net... 208.122.34.166
    Connecting to layer6.medialayer.net|208.122.34.166|:80... connected.
    HTTP request sent, awaiting response... 200 OK
    Length: 16777216 (16M) [application/zip]
    Saving to: `16mb.test.file.zip'

    100%[====================================================================>] 16,777,216 6.04M/s in 2.6s

    16:08:10 (6.04 MB/s) - `16mb.test.file.zip' saved [16777216/16777216]

    [[email protected] ~]$ wget http://mirror.myriadnetwork.com/apac...n32-src-r2.zip
    --16:08:21-- http://mirror.myriadnetwork.com/apac...n32-src-r2.zip
    Resolving mirror.myriadnetwork.com... 208.67.80.26
    Connecting to mirror.myriadnetwork.com|208.67.80.26|:80... connected.
    HTTP request sent, awaiting response... 200 OK
    Length: 9431497 (9.0M) [application/zip]
    Saving to: `httpd-2.2.6-win32-src-r2.zip'

    100%[=====================================================>] 9,431,497 2.60M/s in 3.7s

    16:08:25 (2.43 MB/s) - `httpd-2.2.6-win32-src-r2.zip' saved [9431497/9431497]

    [[email protected] ~]$


    From WebNX

    [[email protected] ~]# wget http://mirror.myriadnetwork.com/apac...n32-src-r2.zip
    --16:10:57-- http://mirror.myriadnetwork.com/apac...n32-src-r2.zip
    Resolving mirror.myriadnetwork.com... 208.67.80.26
    Connecting to mirror.myriadnetwork.com|208.67.80.26|:80... connected.
    HTTP request sent, awaiting response... 200 OK
    Length: 9431497 (9.0M) [application/zip]
    Saving to: `httpd-2.2.6-win32-src-r2.zip'

    100%[=======================================>] 9,431,497 1.32M/s in 7.0s

    16:11:04 (1.28 MB/s) - `httpd-2.2.6-win32-src-r2.zip' saved [9431497/9431497]

    [[email protected] ~]# wget http://layer6.medialayer.net/16mb.test.file.zip
    --16:11:17-- http://layer6.medialayer.net/16mb.test.file.zip
    Resolving layer6.medialayer.net... 208.122.34.166
    Connecting to layer6.medialayer.net|208.122.34.166|:80... connected.
    HTTP request sent, awaiting response... 200 OK
    Length: 16777216 (16M) [application/zip]
    Saving to: `16mb.test.file.zip.2'

    100%[=======================================>] 16,777,216 5.70M/s in 2.8s

    16:11:20 (5.70 MB/s) - `16mb.test.file.zip.2' saved [16777216/16777216]

    [[email protected] ~]#
    I can do a few more tests from where ever you like but I'm guessing this is just an issue with your ISP.
    Last edited by anon-e-mouse; 01-27-2008 at 08:32 PM. Reason: removed a few ======s for easier viewing

  19. #19
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    277
    Myriadnetwork = Equinix IBX datacenters
    Response time (speed) from hosting companies using Equinix IBX datacenter will be always better.

  20. #20
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Amex & Amex
    Posts
    1,276
    Quote Originally Posted by Deny View Post
    Myriadnetwork = Equinix IBX datacenters
    Response time (speed) from hosting companies using Equinix IBX datacenter will be always better.
    Always? I have 10ms latency to my server at medialayer. Equinix was about 20ms.

  21. #21
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    872
    Page generated in 0.17321 seconds with 22 queries
    Your forum has 52 users online, and it just loaded that fast.

    Nice, thats amazing.
    Great job layer0.
    hosted by HawkHost
    I Recommend: LimeStone Networks!
    The OverSeller Defender!

  22. #22
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    New York, NY
    Posts
    10,574
    Deny,

    Equinix is not a network.

    Equinix has multiple facilities.

    Providers within Equinix either maintain their own network or transit through another network.

    The relative quality of the network has nothing to do with the fact that the network is based in Equinix.

    There are many providers which maintain high quality networks within Equinix, as well as many providers which maintain high quality networks outside of Equinix.

    But, this thread isn't about Equinix, and I'm not sure where you're trying to twist it in that direction.
    MediaLayer, LLC - www.medialayer.com Learn how we can make your website load faster, translating to better conversion rates for your business!
    The pioneers of optimized web hosting, featuring LiteSpeed Web Server & SSD Storage - Celebrating 10 Years in Business

  23. #23
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    24,009

    Cool

    Let me finish that sentence for you.
    Quote Originally Posted by EEssam View Post
    The space and bandwidth they are offering is very very little . . .
    . . . when compared to the rediculous overselling that goes on in some sections of the hosting industry.

  24. #24
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    140
    Quote Originally Posted by Aussie Bob View Post
    Let me finish that sentence for you.

    . . . when compared to the rediculous overselling that goes on in some sections of the hosting industry.
    Not necessarily. 2 and 5GB doesn't cost a fortune.

  25. #25
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    140
    And... Hosts should stop offering spaces in MB. That's like offering spaces in KBs back in 2002!

  26. #26
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    New York, NY
    Posts
    10,574
    Quote Originally Posted by EEssam View Post
    Not necessarily. 2 and 5GB doesn't cost a fortune.
    15K SAS hard disks in a RAID 10 array with multiple sets of backups (offsite - which results in bandwidth usage for transfers) isn't cheap.
    MediaLayer, LLC - www.medialayer.com Learn how we can make your website load faster, translating to better conversion rates for your business!
    The pioneers of optimized web hosting, featuring LiteSpeed Web Server & SSD Storage - Celebrating 10 Years in Business

  27. #27
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    410
    Medialayer looks like a great host, and I am certin I am going to sign up, but I have to agree with EEssam. There are plenty of hosts that don't oversell that offer much more disk space.

  28. #28
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    127.0.0.1
    Posts
    3,640
    Quote Originally Posted by EEssam View Post
    And... Hosts should stop offering spaces in MB. That's like offering spaces in KBs back in 2002!
    This is my $0.02.

  29. #29
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    326
    MediaLayer is also using LiteSpeed instead of Apache.
    LiteSpeed is not free hence slightly higher prices.

    You are paying for LiteSpeed, 15k SAS Drives(and they are not cheap as stated), RAID Array, Support, etc....
    So what you are getting for the price is actually quite reasonable.
    Charles

  30. #30
    Quote Originally Posted by EEssam View Post
    Not necessarily. 2 and 5GB doesn't cost a fortune.
    This would disagree. Consider you need four of those for a RAID-10.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •