Request for hosting suggestions

Hi, Let me start by saying I am new to dedicated hosting/server management and to thank you in advance for your time any assistance.

We are launching a new website Trick Pirates com March 1, 2008. The site is currently hosted on a Go Daddy shared account. The site is live but not advertised and we have already experienced slow downs, devastating for streaming media. So we are looking into going with a more robust hosting solution.

The big question is what do we need for launch dedicated vs vds, managed vs unmanaged vs unmanaged + server management (ie PSM), Windows vs Linux, Control Panels?, Processor, Bandwidth, RAM

About US
    Site Built on PHP with MySQL
    Streaming Video
    Payflow / PayPal Pro
    Owners have experience as Windows Helpdesk personnel
    Budget - Low we are a start-up funded out of our limited pockets
    Most important - Minimal Slowdowns

Thank you so much for taking the time to read this and for any suggestions.

Matt

might start your search in the VPS offers forum.
    Ceridius Networks Sales
    Email/MSN [email protected]
    Ceridius Networks - Reseller of Hivelocity Hosting
    Network Speed Test

Thumbs up

TrickPirate,

A lot of what you are asking for really depends on your budget.
    If you could let us know a rough range we would be able to give you a closer recommendation for your hardware. Remember, you can always upgrade RAM, Bandwidth, ect. as your site grows. Also, if you are to go with a managed solution, you will be looking to pay more and that might push you out of your budget as well.

As far as an OS, if you or your people are comfortable with Windows, run it.

But I would definitely go with a dedicated opposed to a VPS.
    David Infinger - Sago Networks -
    Dedicated Servers | Colocation | Load Balanced Clusters | 2 World Class Datacenters | Affordable Management
    (866) 366-3640 Extn. 3020
    AIM: SagoDavid | Yahoo: Sago_David | ICQ: 405357708