Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Sillicon Valley, US
    Posts
    6

    dedicated windows servers in the EU and HK

    I'm looking for a couple of dedicated servers, one in the EU (UK, NL, DE) and one in HK.
    Specs are kind of odd as they are fileservers.
    500GB to 1TB disk space
    1G ram
    low end CPU (everything is I/O bound)
    windows (application software we use requires windows)
    20Mbs or 2000-5000GB/m bandwidth.

    I've been trawling through google and WHT (this is by far the most informative site I've found so far) and wondered if anyone had had similar specs with some sucess with particular hosting companies.

    Chatty

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Clemson
    Posts
    172
    What's your budget look like? I've been doing some research for a client for a UK server and would be glad to go back through the sites I visited to see if anything fits
    Brett Meadors

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    USA, EU, UK, CA, AUS
    Posts
    1,798
    Check out UK2.Net as they provide very good value for money and a great service.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Sillicon Valley, US
    Posts
    6
    Quote Originally Posted by YMHBrett View Post
    What's your budget look like? I've been doing some research for a client for a UK server and would be glad to go back through the sites I visited to see if anything fits
    My budget is around 200 UKP/month (US keyboard, no pound sign).

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    /dev/null
    Posts
    3,696
    200 GBP
    390 USD
    270 Euro

    How many servers do you have in mind?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Sillicon Valley, US
    Posts
    6
    I need the disk space, so whatever fits into the price range.
    If 1 server can have 1TB of disk space then that's great. If two fall into the same price with the same amount of space then that's OK too.
    I've was going to ask UK2.net if they can do one of their bronze celerons with more disk space but they don't have an email contact for sales and they are a 800 number (not callable from the US)

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    /dev/null
    Posts
    3,696
    Before you take a host, I would recommend you to take a speedtest file first. That's why it would be better in general to get like 4 servers with each 250GB HD space in different datacenters (example: 1 in the UK, 1 in the Netherlands, 1 in Germany, 1 in HongKong)

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    USA, EU, UK, CA, AUS
    Posts
    1,798
    You should be able to contact UK2 via email. They will add on larger HDD for a one off setup fee.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Sillicon Valley, US
    Posts
    6
    Quote Originally Posted by vipeax View Post
    Before you take a host, I would recommend you to take a speedtest file first. That's why it would be better in general to get like 4 servers with each 250GB HD space in different datacenters (example: 1 in the UK, 1 in the Netherlands, 1 in Germany, 1 in HongKong)
    Agreed,
    I still need a server in asia, I have the same budget for that one.
    I actually have a datacenter in the US in San Jose which is on the west coast backbone. I just need a couple of satellite servers in our higher volume areas I can use for when things get slow over here (as they have been recently).

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Sillicon Valley, US
    Posts
    6
    Quote Originally Posted by Ultima Hosts View Post
    You should be able to contact UK2 via email. They will add on larger HDD for a one off setup fee.
    do you have an email contact for them?

    ...
    just found their online form so never mind, I'll use that :-)

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    USA, EU, UK, CA, AUS
    Posts
    1,798

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    USA, EU, UK, CA, AUS
    Posts
    1,798
    Quote Originally Posted by chatty View Post
    Agreed,
    I still need a server in asia
    Would you consider Australia?

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Sillicon Valley, US
    Posts
    6
    No not really, the machines would serve India and China.
    Being that I'm already on mae west I probably have a faster connection to asia from California than any Australian ISP does.

    I lived in Melbourne for a year back in 88/9, if I wasn't in California I'd still be there.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    USA, EU, UK, CA, AUS
    Posts
    1,798
    Quote Originally Posted by chatty View Post
    I lived in Melbourne for a year back in 88/9, if I wasn't in California I'd still be there.
    You might want to checkout Singapore as a location then. Glad you liked Melbourne

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •