Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    265

    howto ssh to new Xen vps

    Ok, I have created a new Xen vps in HyperVM, assigned an IP for it. I can ping to that IP already. However, when trying ssh to the vps with root password, it always returns password error. What do I need to configure in HyperVM to login vps by ssh? The gateway is using IP gateway of node

    Thank you.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    London UK
    Posts
    683
    Is root access enabled ?
    UK SSD VPS without compromise - upto 250k IOPS !
    www.clustered.net

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    265
    root access on node? or vps? I dont see anywhere to config "direct" root access for vps. On node, I just tried to allow root access, but still cannot ssh to root of vps

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    6,601
    Have the IP's already been configured on the main node?
    Russ Foster - Industry Curmudgeon

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    1,766
    On the node try xm console yourvpsname.vm

    that should take you to the console, you might be able to diagnose the problem better there.
    -- Adam

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    265
    It seems I didnt configure IP correctly. In console, it shows

    Bringing up interface eth0: Error, some other host already uses address xx.xx.xx.xx [FAILED]

    I have added that IP by using IPaddresses function in Server section in HyperVM. Did I do wrong thing?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    1,766
    It sounds like Rus is right, if you can ping your IPs while your VPS is down then it seems like they are pointing at your dom0 not the VPS.
    -- Adam

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    265
    So, how to add IP correctly on the main node?

    Thank you.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Michigan, USA
    Posts
    3,872
    I don't use Xen, but for any virtualization tech. I have used, you don't add the IP to the main node. That is your problem. You only have to add it to the VPS, as long as it is in the same subnet as the main node's IP it should work fine.


  10. #10
    You need to add the the IP's from the hostnode. It's very easy to do inside hypervm. You do not add it directly to the VPS.

  11. #11
    From the hostnode, you can do

    Code:
    vzlist
    This will give your the VEID number.

    Then you can enter the VPS with:

    Code:
    vzctl enter VEID
    You should be able to change the password once you are logged in

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Michigan, USA
    Posts
    3,872
    Chris, he's on Xen not VZ ;-), but yes that is what I meant by adding to the VPS.


  13. #13
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Hanoi
    Posts
    4,306
    it's a bug of CentOS 5.1 with Xen, need to run a fix
    http://forum.lxlabs.com/index.php?t=...=3287&start=0&

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •