hosted by liquidweb

Go Back   Web Hosting Talk : Other Forums : Computers and Peripherals : Some laptop questions (screen size, brand, etc.)

Forum Jump

Some laptop questions (screen size, brand, etc.)

Reply Post New Thread In Computers and Peripherals Subscription

Send news tip View All Posts Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-22-2008, 04:26 AM
Retired Moderator

Some laptop questions (screen size, brand, etc.)

Welp, I'm in the market for a new laptop. It will primarily be used for schoolwork (I'm an economics student so statistical software is a must) and playing a few games (Team Fortress 2 and World of Warcraft - nothing too crazy). Since I will occasionally be taking it to class (and to my parents' house when I visit), I don't want anything too heavy. Can someone with some firsthand experience help explain to me the portability differences between a 14.1" and 15.4" screen? Portability is important for when I'm traveling to class and going to my parents' house, but most of the day it'll sit on my desk. I'm just trying to weigh my options between the two sizes.

That being said, I currently have my eyes on the Dell Vostro 1400 or 1500. I'm not usually a fan of Dell laptops, as I feel they've become increasingly flimsy over the years, but I've heard good things about this line. I've also always wanted a Lenovo but I'm trying to stay around a $1,000 or less budget. I plan to get a computer with XP because I'm unhappy with the speed of some things in Vista (plus the fact that I get Vista Ultimate for free from my school, so upgrading is free when it's absolutely necessary). Also, do you think the video card (NVIDIA GeForce 8400/8600M GS) will handle the games I want to play?

So, any thoughts? Recommendations? Opinions? Comments? Rants?

Last edited by CArmstrong; 01-22-2008 at 04:35 AM. Reason: Removed a few "that being said"s. Apparently I like that phrase.

Sponsored Links
Old 01-22-2008, 06:54 AM
Web Developer