hosted by liquidweb


Go Back   Web Hosting Talk : Web Hosting Main Forums : Hosting Security and Technology : How to install mbstring for PHP5?
Reply

Forum Jump

How to install mbstring for PHP5?

Reply Post New Thread In Hosting Security and Technology Subscription
 
Send news tip View All Posts Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old
WHT Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 140
Question

How to install mbstring for PHP5?


Hi guys,
I'm using Apache2, MySQL5, and PHP5 with CentOS4.6, cPanel 11.
When recompile Apache2 and PHP5 from WHM, there are no options for mbstring, so now my PHP5 doesn't has mbstring.

I tried to install mbstring as below, but I got this message:
Quote:
root@mybox [~]# yum install php-mbstring
Setting up Install Process
Setting up repositories
update 100% |=========================| 951 B 00:00
base 100% |=========================| 1.1 kB 00:00
addons 100% |=========================| 951 B 00:00
extras 100% |=========================| 1.1 kB 00:00
Reading repository metadata in from local files
Excluding Packages in global exclude list
Finished
Parsing package install arguments
No Match for argument: php-mbstring
Nothing to do
I also tried:
Quote:
up2date -i php-mbstring
but no luck!

Are there other ways to install mbstring for PHP5?



Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 3,337
Try to recompile apache in WHM, mbstring option is in there.

__________________
PremiumReseller.com Hyper-V SSD VPS USA London Singapore
Reseller Hosting Cpanel PURE SSD CloudLinux Softaculous
Windows Reseller Asp.NET 4.5 MSSQL 2012 SmarterMail Enterprise


  #3  
Old
WHT Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 140
I didn't see that option. It just a short add-on list at PHP section.

Sponsored Links
  #4  
Old
Aspiring Evangelist
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 399
Should be like this:

Select Profile --> Customize --> Select Apache Version --> Select PHP Version --> Exhaustive Options List --> Check "Mbstring"

It should be under:

PHP 5.2.5 (Be sure to "harden" your PHP since PHP has many security issues)

Should work, I'm guessing you're still in the small menu because you didn't go to the exhaustive options list.

__________________
|| Dennis Liang,
|| ServaxNet LLC

  #5  
Old
WHT Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 140
ok, I see it now. So it must need to recompile Apache, PHP to have mbstring?
Can you please guide me how to harden PHP?

  #6  
Old
Junior Guru Wannabe
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by Servax View Post
Should be like this:

Select Profile --> Customize --> Select Apache Version --> Select PHP Version --> Exhaustive Options List --> Check "Mbstring"

It should be under:

PHP 5.2.5 (Be sure to "harden" your PHP since PHP has many security issues)

Should work, I'm guessing you're still in the small menu because you didn't go to the exhaustive options list.
Where are these options?? Please help me

  #7  
Old
WHT Addict
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Bangladesh
Posts: 131
login to your WHM >> EasyApache (Apache Update) >> Start customize based on your default profile >> Select Apache version >> Select PHP Version >> Select PHP Minor Version >> Select Short Option as per your needs >> Exhaustive Options List, there you will find "Mbstring" select that option(you can search by ctrl+F5 with Mbstring) >> start Rebuilding apache

__________________
TetraHost Bangladesh
Shared Hosting | Reseller Hosting | Shoutcast Radio Hosting
Biased for true hosting experience - www.tetrahostbd.com


  #8  
Old
Junior Guru Wannabe
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 62
i did that. I need xslt. how can i do that?

  #9  
Old
Junior Guru Wannabe
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 70
for XSL; from http://www.webhostingtalk.com/archiv.../t-565940.html

- - -

Edit /home/cpapachebuild/buildapache/buildscript
There are about a dozen lines that start with ./configure and have all of the php options as listed in my original post. add --with-xsl to the end of all of them.
Execute this -

sh /home/cpapachebuild/buildapache/buildscript

yaa this is the best way to configure XSL with the PHP. I did this many times without an error. Once the build will complete check the PHP modules by using the command

php -m

- - -

__________________
Larry Dougherty
Hosting.com Server Engineer

Reply

Related posts from TheWhir.com
Title Type Date Posted
Microsoft Issues Patch for Windows Server Permissions Vulnerability Web Hosting News 2014-11-19 18:26:34
Tweet that Claims the US Government Wants to Ban Bitcoin Actually Spreading Malware Web Hosting News 2014-05-23 13:57:57
Veterans Website, IE 10 Users Targeted in Possible Attempt to Steal Military Secrets Web Hosting News 2014-02-14 13:36:54
Arvixe Partners with SiteApps for SMB App Marketplace Web Hosting News 2014-05-01 08:22:20
Web Hosting Sales and Promos Roundup - November 8, 2013 Web Hosting News 2014-05-23 15:42:41


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Postbit Selector

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump
Login:
Log in with your username and password
Username:
Password:



Forgot Password?
WHT Host Brief Email:

We respect your privacy. We will never sell, rent, or give away your address to any outside party, ever.

Advertisement:
Web Hosting News:
WHT Membership
WHT Membership



 

X

Welcome to WebHostingTalk.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

WebHostingTalk.com is the largest, most influentual web hosting community on the Internet. Join us by filling in the form below.


(4 digit year)

Already a member?