Results 1 to 16 of 16

Thread: Looking for VPS

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    40

    Looking for VPS

    Hi.
    I'm still looking for VPS or shared hosting.
    I already have 2 VPS but need one more for just small sized websites.

    Requirement:
    cPanel
    HDD 5GB ~

    The price need to be cheap because I mainly have 2 more VPS.
    I was researching VPS, but VPS with cpanel is expensive.

    Please advise.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Michigan, USA
    Posts
    3,872
    Why don't you just upgrade one of your current VPS's instead of paying for another VPS+license fee?


  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    40
    I had some problem with VPS such as backup function and quotaugidlimit.
    It looks like some error on vps, but provider doesn't want to fix but want $ to fix.
    I'm tired of them.

    It says unlimited domains, but quotaugidlimit is set to 500.
    It doesn't make sense, right?
    I use hostican.com VPS range plan.
    Anybody have any idea about hostican.com 500 quotaugidlimit?
    I have about 66 domains, but it's already 500 guotaugidlimit used.
    I know what the quotaugidlimit is, but they don't explain how 500 is used by.

    I believe actual usage is about 70-80

    Or can u recommand VPS with unlimited quotaugidlimit?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    1,915
    What's the backup problem your having? Regarding your other problem with the quotaugidlimit the number 500 is very low. Even if you use 70-80 the number 500 seems very low for quotaugidlimit in a VPS plan.

    -Jay
    KnownHost Managed VPS Specialists
    Toll Free: (866)-332-9894
    Fully Managed VPS, Hybrid, and Dedicated Servers

    RocketVPS.com - Premium Unmanaged VPS Hosting

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Gods Own Country
    Posts
    869
    Check this link http://www.vpsreview.net/
    Hope it will be of some help.
    Blessen Cherian
    Follow me on twitter.com/blessenonly
    Over a decade plus in the Hosting Industry

  6. #6
    Finding a host that is going to provide cPanel on a low budget VPS is going to be VERY difficult.

    cPanel is a resource hog. You are going to need a VPS with at LEAST 384MB of RAM (512 is what I would recommend).

    Most plans offer packaged deals, meaning as your RAM goes up, so does your disk space.

    Maybe look for a plan that offers a control panel, but just not cPanel. Unless you have to have cPanel, in which case you're going to pay a premium.

    Best of luck!
    DBI Hosting Reliable Web Hosting
    VPS Hosting / cPanel VPS Hosting
    Linux, Windows & BSD
    Backups, Custom Control Panel, 24/7 Support

  7. #7
    With the VPS you get an OS and panel. If the panel comes with apache/php/mysql, then those are installed as well (interworx would be an example of a panel where apache, php and mysql are installed). If you choose an OS and no panel, then you'll need to install apache/php/mysql on your own.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    40
    I have cpanel accounts on other vps.
    If there is no cpanel installed in new vps, how can i migrate accounts?
    One by one?
    Or if there any way to migrate, is it easy?
    Thanks,,

  9. #9
    Quote Originally Posted by treo650 View Post
    I have cpanel accounts on other vps.
    If there is no cpanel installed in new vps, how can i migrate accounts?
    One by one?
    Or if there any way to migrate, is it easy?
    Thanks,,
    It's not terrible. Send me a PM and I can walk you through what you need to do.
    DBI Hosting Reliable Web Hosting
    VPS Hosting / cPanel VPS Hosting
    Linux, Windows & BSD
    Backups, Custom Control Panel, 24/7 Support

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Hanoi
    Posts
    4,306
    Quote Originally Posted by treo650 View Post
    I have cpanel accounts on other vps.
    If there is no cpanel installed in new vps, how can i migrate accounts?
    One by one?
    Or if there any way to migrate, is it easy?
    Thanks,,
    You can convert it to DirectAdmin, that use less memory. You can be fine with 128MB RAM VPS, and still have DA for managing your account

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    3,077
    Rus/CheapVPS.co.uk can usually do some pretty good deals with cPanel, might be worth dropping them an email for a custom quote.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Penang, Malaysia
    Posts
    212
    Quote Originally Posted by gate2vn View Post
    You can convert it to DirectAdmin, that use less memory. You can be fine with 128MB RAM VPS, and still have DA for managing your account
    do you mind sharing the steps of transfering? i'd like to know too. thanks!

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Hanoi
    Posts
    4,306
    1. of course, you will need a VPS with DirectAdmin ready
    2. make full backup from cPanel
    3. go to DirectAdmin forums, search for cPanel convert
    4. move backup file to DA VPS, and do the convert
    5. restore it in DA

    We have done many times before for us, and our customers. No complain at all

  14. #14
    For cpanel, you need at least 256mb ram to run smoothly. So, your VPS must have at least 256 guaranteed ram. That mean it will cost more.

    Directadmin is another excellent option. Yes, 128mb ram is good enough as DA is a very good and lightweight control panel.

    It is better to get your host or admin to do the account conversion for you if you are not sure.
    Affordable Managed Hosting Solutions for Professional & Business since 2001
    Mxhub.com - Global : USA - UK - Canada - Europe - Asia Pacific


  15. #15
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    645
    If you are using a control panel, you will always be paying more.

    Cpanel is for people who have more money than time. If that is not your situation, consider learning how to manage a server manually.

    It may be worth your time to learn how to edit apache configs yourself, its actually very easy once you learn how and the knowledge will help you in all aspects of internet business.
    VPSVille.com
    Toronto, London, Dallas, Los Angeles
    Quality VPS hosting on Premium bandwidth

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Spartanburg, SC
    Posts
    396
    if someone is just starting out go for something that is managed and that comes with or a nominal fee for a control panel

    apache cna be confusing to some people and for others it just comes naturally but you can still learn apache even with a CP on there
    Fully Managed | cPanel Shared Hosting | Windows Shared (coming soon) | R1Soft Daily Backups | FFmpeg packages
    Base 10 Hosting LLC
    follow us on twitter - @Base10Hosting

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •