Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 40 of 52
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    1,210

    I need this broadband

    See this broadband i need it like soon or i'm doomed..
    How do i go around getting this broadband?.
    What would be best is if i could kind of order it online but i wouldn't mind phoning up some company either but ordering online would be better..
    So how do i get it cause i haven't a clue?.
    Professor of crime at St Andrews university.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    3,100
    Where are you from? uk?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    1,210
    Yep from the UK.
    Professor of crime at St Andrews university.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Boston
    Posts
    5,010
    Usually call just call your local telephone company and ask them.. It might not be available thought.. ONe way to tell is that if you have a digital cable box you can prob get broadband/DSL if you cannot get it the only other choice is sattelite(sp?) which I hear is really expensive for the "real-time" usage meaning you do not have to use your phone line at all which is one of the main reasons I got it in the first place.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    353
    Broadband is simple the best

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    1,210
    Yep ok i have just figured that you need this cable box modem thing ..
    What i need is a very very very fast internet connection for something..
    Who's the fastest or are they all the same..
    I don't want men to come around and muck up my room again and fiddle with my computer so i'm looking for someone that send this modem thing through the post..
    I hate installation guys, there always grumpy about something .
    Professor of crime at St Andrews university.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    353
    They HAVE to come install a broadband cable line. At least they did with me. When they install the cable line they usually give you the cable modem.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    1,210
    Hang on guys what's this 2MB line? is that faster?. I need the fastest thing and i don't care how much i pay.
    Professor of crime at St Andrews university.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    353
    LOL. If you don't care what you pay, get an OC-48 or whatever the highest is.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    1,210
    An OC-48, that sounds a bit illegal that. How much does it cost and who sells it?.
    Professor of crime at St Andrews university.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    353
    lol. Its not illegal. The fastest is OC-192 and you can get 9953.28 Mbps. Just do a search on google.com or alltheweb.com and you will get a list of providers.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    1,210
    And lads i don't like advertising so i want kind of like 213.54.4.32- nedpattersOC-40 instead of the numbers and blueyonder.co.uk or something..
    Now is this possible to get your own kind of regee for the net?.
    Professor of crime at St Andrews university.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    353
    Uhh... what? I don't understand one word of what you just said. heh.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    1,210
    Is it possible to like buy lets say 213.5344.543 nedsOCline.co.uk or something instead of blueyonder.co.uk you have the nedsOCline..
    Professor of crime at St Andrews university.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    353
    You can register nedsOCline.co.uk at a registrar. That has nothing to do with the OC-192 line.

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    1,210
    Ok i won't shout at you for not understanding what i'm talking about , you sound like a loyal citizen..
    Anyway guys someone point me in the direction for a OC lines cause i can't find them anywhere.
    Professor of crime at St Andrews university.

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    353
    Well here is an average price list, you can figure out how much it would be.

    T-1 - 1.544 megabits per second (24 DS0 lines) Ave. cost $1,200./mo.
    T-3 - 43.232 megabits per second (28 T1s) Ave. cost $28,000./mo.
    OC-3 - 155 megabits per second (100 T1s) Ave. cost $49,000./mo.
    OC-12 - 622 megabits per second (4 OC3s) no est. price available
    OC-48 - 2.5 gigabits per seconds (4 OC12s) no est. price available
    OC-192 - 9.6 gigabits per second (4 OC48s) no est. price available

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    1,210
    Hey you have to be taking the piss . There's no way it costs that much .
    Jesus christ.
    Professor of crime at St Andrews university.

  19. #19
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    353
    LOL. Im 100% serious.

  20. #20
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    1,210
    Look you shut up and stop mucking about .
    Tell me the real price.
    Professor of crime at St Andrews university.

  21. #21
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    1,210
    Ok i trust you.
    I have a budget of 50 a month and i need something that's the speed of light.
    Professor of crime at St Andrews university.

  22. #22
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    1,210
    Sorry i mean i need something that's faster than broadband.
    Professor of crime at St Andrews university.

  23. #23
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    353
    You won't get faster then broadband for 50 a month

  24. #24
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    353
    After broadband , there is T1, and as i said above, a t1 is $1,200 a month

  25. #25
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    1,210
    I remember something about 2MB line so what does this mean?.
    Professor of crime at St Andrews university.

  26. #26
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    353
    I honestly have no clue. I get that speed on my cable.

  27. #27
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    London
    Posts
    4,856
    You said price wasn't an issue. Last time I got quoted on a fractional DS3 (I think it was at 10 Megs) with BT it was about 20k a month.

    You won't get faster than 512k adsl for 50 a month. And you need engineers to come out and upgrade your line, and fit your modem. Doesn't sound as if you know how to yourself...
    Matthew Russell | Namecheap
    Twitter: @mattdrussell

    www.namecheap.com - hosting from a registrar DONE RIGHT!

  28. #28
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    1,372
    Originally posted by ned patter
    Is it possible to like buy lets say 213.5344.543 nedsOCline.co.uk or something instead of blueyonder.co.uk you have the nedsOCline..
    Mr Mcnaulty...I do beleive you are extracting the urine from our transatlantic cousins...now that's not fair.

    Simon

  29. #29
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    353
    I've got both adsl and roadrunner (cable) in my house. And in my opinion, cable is faster.

  30. #30
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    1,372
    Originally posted by DoobyWho
    I've got both adsl and roadrunner (cable) in my house. And in my opinion, cable is faster.
    For you..maybe...but..that all depends on what cable and what adsl...for everybody else.

    Simon

  31. #31
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    353
    Like i said, in my opinion.

    I've got aDSL from SBC (south western bell)
    and cable from Time-Warner (road-runner).

    It all depends on your provider and location.

  32. #32
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    1,210
    Originally posted by SimonMc


    Mr Mcnaulty...I do beleive you are extracting the urine from our transatlantic cousins...now that's not fair.

    Simon
    I'm extracting a bloody what?.
    Who's our Translantic cousins like?.
    Last edited by ned patter; 08-11-2002 at 01:12 PM.
    Professor of crime at St Andrews university.

  33. #33
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    353
    rofl

  34. #34
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    1,210
    Here's my speed just now.
    Up: 31kpbs
    Down: 30 kbps

    Terrible.
    Professor of crime at St Andrews university.

  35. #35
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    524
    LOL

    Brilliant ned, brilliant

  36. #36
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    353
    lol, good job ned. But make sure it says 'transatlantic", hehe. thats what he said.

  37. #37
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Scotland, UK
    Posts
    2,687
    I have got 1Mbit cable from Blueyonder here in the UK. Costs 39.99 per month or 29.99 for 512kbps. I can't get (a)DSL in my area, however the fastest package for that I believe is 2Mbit.

    For my internet use (Email, browsing, download the odd file, SSH, FTP etc.) 1Mbit is more than enough.

    Should you get an OC-192, which I doubt very much, it is highly unlikely you will be able to use even a fraction of the bandwidth avlaiable.
    Chris Adams - CEO - Rochen Ltd. - chris (at) rochen (dot) com

    Now offering both US & UK premium business hosting, reseller hosting and managed virtualized services.
    rochen.com | rochen.co.uk | blog.rochen.com | forums.rochen.com | Twitter: @rochenhost

  38. #38
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    1,210
    Originally posted by DoobyWho
    lol, good job ned. But make sure it says 'transatlantic", hehe. thats what he said.
    Ohh i never read that properly.
    He's still being nasty though by saying i steal girls and drink some stuff.
    Professor of crime at St Andrews university.

  39. #39
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    1,210
    Originally posted by rochen
    I have got 1Mbit cable from Blueyonder here in the UK. Costs 39.99 per month or 29.99 for 512kbps. I can't get (a)DSL in my area, however the fastest package for that I believe is 2Mbit.

    For my internet use (Email, browsing, download the odd file, SSH, FTP etc.) 1Mbit is more than enough.

    Should you get an OC-192, which I doubt very much, it is highly unlikely you will be able to use even a fraction of the bandwidth avlaiable.
    I have blueyonder dial up which quite frankly seems to be as slow as hell and i fancy myself as being a bit of a DJ so i'll be doing some DJing from my computer to the world which should be fun.
    There's no way i can afford this T1 stuff cause it's not me that will even be paying for it, it's my mum.
    Professor of crime at St Andrews university.

  40. #40
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Scotland, UK
    Posts
    2,687
    There is a huge difference between Blueyonder dialup (28.8kbps - 56kbps) and Blueyonder broadband (512kbps - 1024kbpis '1Mbit'). If you look in Internet Magazine, you will see Blueyonder has the highest rating for UK broadband service.
    Chris Adams - CEO - Rochen Ltd. - chris (at) rochen (dot) com

    Now offering both US & UK premium business hosting, reseller hosting and managed virtualized services.
    rochen.com | rochen.co.uk | blog.rochen.com | forums.rochen.com | Twitter: @rochenhost

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •