ontario business license

Hi all,

Just a few questions.

Does anyone know if it is necessary to get a business license if you are living in ontario, and have an online web hosting business?
    I already have a web hosting business going right now, and making 300-400/month.
    I don't have a business license yet, and i've been running it for a few months now.
    What I would like to know is it too late now to go register as a business? Can I just walk in there and say that I'd like to register a business, give them my info and then only counting revenue, expenses, etc, AFTER I get my business license? Or am i thinking the wrong way?
    How will they know I've been doing this for 4-5 months already
    My guess is they won't, so my guess is that I could go in there and register a business now, better than a year later... or few months later
    Because each month i estimate ill be making more and more, and i am really scared to continue like this without a business license
    So does anyone know what it's like in ontario canada? It seems like every state, or every country has it different. I actually heard one person on here say that since they live in canada they don't really need a business license becuase of < some reason here >

So as you can see, it may be differnet
    Please don't bash me, I feel bad already as it is for not having a business license. I realize it may be wrong, and as I said, i feel bad as it is. I don't want to continue like this. It was not a smart decision on my part, but I'd lik eto change things around

If anyone has any information please do reply

e.g. anyone who lives in ontario and runs a business.. Or if anyone knows what would happen when i do walk in there to go register my business... what if i just told them that i just started up, and pretend like the past never happend, etc.

Thank you

Toronto, Ontario
    Hey Markyb,