offering cash back question

Does anyone know how this works? I am new to all of this but am working on starting an online shopping mall that offers a percent cash back, depending on which store you shop at. Does this work through your hosting provider or through some sort of affiliate program?
    I have looked all over but guess I am just not entering the right keywords for my search because I am not turning up anything good. Any help would be appreciated!

In order for you to offer a % cash back you would need to be able to verify that payment was made successfully so you need to ensure that any cart software you select accepts a post back from the merchant gateway with the approval transaction number.

I think you would also need to ensure your merchants ship the product so you probably need to be very careful about which stores you allow to use your mall.

I don't think your hosting provider nor an affiliate program would help you do what you want to do. I don't think you will find a shopping cart system that supports a "mall" feature and has this built-in. It sounds like a highly specialized/customized feature. Good luck with your project.
    PHP Shopping Cart Software Complete ecommece shopping cart solution (template driven).
    PHPCart.net Simple shopping cart script.

Actually the tracking would come from my being a part of affiliate programs, which is taken care of.
    There are a bunch of sites out there like what I want to do, including ebates, mypoints, upromise, and many more...so it can't be TOO difficult! I am just not sure how to go about getting it started.
    I know that oscommerce has some sort of point system they offer similar to what i want but they don't offer it on the scale that I want.