Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Internet
    Posts
    1,134

    Something odd on alexa.com?

    Okay go to,
    http://www.alexa.com/data/details/tr...ails/yahoo.com

    Then copy and paste
    Yahoo.com has a traffic rank of: 1

    Do you see what I see? Wtf?

    Yahoo.com has a traffic rank of: 5188871

    How and why does that happen?
    GeekDub Hosting, Reseller, VPS and more! ●

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Pittsburgh
    Posts
    3,479
    It's saying it has a rank of 1 for me too. Where is it saying "Yahoo.com has a traffic rank of: 5188871"?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    2,336
    I went to the site and copied then pasted Yahoo.com has a traffic rank of: 1 and it came up as Yahoo.com has a traffic rank of: 1 ?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    250
    i checked also ..it says rank 1... maybe you miss spelled it the time you tried to check up on it?
    Who is this infamous HTML i keep hearing of, is she cute?

  5. #5
    Quote Originally Posted by LuckyAnonymous View Post
    Okay go to,
    http://www.alexa.com/data/details/tr...ails/yahoo.com

    Then copy and paste
    Yahoo.com has a traffic rank of: 1

    Do you see what I see? Wtf?

    Yahoo.com has a traffic rank of: 5188871

    How and why does that happen?
    I have seen this before. Alexa put some hidden numbers too, that only show when you copy and paste in text file.

    I checked for yahoo. But it shows only 1.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Internet
    Posts
    1,134
    Quote Originally Posted by flashwebhost View Post
    I have seen this before. Alexa put some hidden numbers too, that only show when you copy and paste in text file.

    I checked for yahoo. But it shows only 1.
    Thats exacly what it is doing for me, do you have any idea how to do this for your own web pages?
    GeekDub Hosting, Reseller, VPS and more! ●

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    487
    Code:
    <span class="body">Yahoo.com    has a  traffic rank of:</span>
    <span class="descBold">    &nbsp;
    <!--Did you know? Alexa offers this data programmatically.  Visit http://aws.amazon.com/awis for more information about the Alexa Web Information Service.-->
    <span class="cfa2">59</span><span class="c35a">1</span></span>
    It appears that the additional numbers are there and hidden via CSS and/or Javascript.

    I can only assume that this is to help combat web scraping (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Web_scraping) so that people use "Alexa Web Information Service", which charges $0.00015 per request (Source: http://aws.amazon.com/awis )

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    St. Louis, Missouri
    Posts
    1,814
    http://www.alexa.com/site/ds/top_sit...ntry&lang=none

    That shows Google most popular in United States or is that traffic rank for the whole world?

    EDIT: Nevermind, yeah Yahoo is no. 1 for the world.
    IntelliSerp - The most accurate and intelligent keyword rank tracking software.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •