Question Newbie Q: How is DNS handled?

I'm shortly going to be getting my first dedicated server from, and I have a question:

I've got a handful of domains to transfer from various registrars. As you all know, the transfer process involves providing a primary and secondary DNS for the domains.

How is this generally handled with dedicated servers? Do you use the provider's ( DNS? Run your own on the same server or elsewhere? Use a third party DNS service?

I'm aware that plesk offers domain management, but I'm unclear if that means people are using that as THE DNS or just to manage virtual hosts/ sub-domains.

Sorry if I sound blockheaded here, I'm new to this, and would appreciate help.

Ask your register Co.

You have to ask for the DNS where you got your domain name, you have to give then your ips and It should be a form to fill out.
    But every company do it different.

Not getting you Mar-y-Sol...

In any case, I've got things set up now and I've got a much better handle on things.

So now my question is:
    Clearly, I can use Plesk to run a primary DNS on my dedicated server, but what about the secondary?

I saw some people mention that I could run it on the same server , but that it isnt recommended.

1. If I wanted to, how would I set up the secondary on the same server with Plesk? Can I just setup and point it at the same ip?

2. The better move to me, it seems, would be to find a service that offers secondary DNS AND backup mail service for all domains -- is there such a thing?

Also, if I go with a service for secondary I'll have to stay on top of keeping and in line? I'm only going to be dealing with about 15 domains, but I just want to be sure.

Thanks for any advice.

The bst advice I can give is to check out the plesk forums at

Westbury, LI NY
    malphigan, I keep running into you