New Computer Case Question

Hi,

I have a LOUD Dell Dimension 2400.

I heard that the Antec Sonata III cases were good at concealing the noise.

I think it's possible to swap the guts of my Dell into that Sonata case, but I'm not sure. I've never tried anything like that before. Is it possible?

Any A+ pros willing to give me a hint?

Much thanks.

I thought Dell uses the standard motherboard configs (atx // micro-atx)?? if that is the case then you shouldn't have a problem.

If you are really concerned about the noise, I would look at the hardware you have right now (IE: Fans) and see about getting something that runs quieter.

(btw; I was @ 666 posts and had to find something to get off of 666 haha)

More than likely if you were to reply your fans, power supply and cpu fan you might be just as happy... or even happier. Putting crappy components in a new case won't make the noise go away... unless the new case comes with all of that... depends on the cost (for me at least). Don't know if I'd spend the money for a dell dem... replacing the power supply might do it for you... some cheap ones are very loud.
    Windows 10 to Linux and Mac OSX: I'm PARSECs better than you. Eat my dust!!!

The Sonata series is certainly quieter than Dell, but the fan noise is still substantial due to the open nature of the top and rear exhaust openings. the 120mm fans help, but if it's fan noise that bugs you, it isn't perfect. Still a good case, but that PSU mount at the bottom is kind of odd for routing the wiring. Not sure if the III has that. Mine was the II.

As for switching the Dell components, in all the Dells I'd bought (last one a few years ago), the mobo was actually riveted to the case, and not screwed in, so probably useless for switching.
    The last box I built (using it right now to type this) cost me around $5-600 in parts, including the Sonata case.
    Having problems, or maybe questions about WHT? Head over to the help desk!

De Nada