Results 1 to 20 of 20
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,262

    New laptop - Vista loaded, what to remove?

    Just got a new Acer laptop (previous Acer has done me well and still going strong) and it is loaded with Vista Home Premium. It's obviously different and will take a bit of getting use to and it seems a bit bloated, clocks, calendars etc etc - I have heard that there are bits of it that are superfluous and can be removed with benefit.

    Anyone recommend what I should look to remove or modify in Vista to ensure I've got a good and speedy laptop experience?

    TIA

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Tega Cay
    Posts
    763
    Quote Originally Posted by grandad View Post

    Anyone recommend what I should look to remove or modify in Vista to ensure I've got a good and speedy laptop experience?

    TIA
    Remove: Vista
    Install: XP

    Seriously though, if you do a Google search you will find several Vista optimization sites to get you started. Just make sure you have a way to start fresh if something goes wrong.

    Also check out http://pcdecrapifier.com. The decrapifier was originally just for Dell (XP) bloatware but now it works on a wide range of computers and Vista. Definately worth a look.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Pittsburgh
    Posts
    3,479
    Did you get a Vista installation disc? The first thing I always do whenever a client buys a new computer is to reformat and perform a clean install of Windows. Then download all the updated system drivers from Acer's website. Usually there's a significant speed improvement when the system is up and running from a fresh install.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,262
    Quote Originally Posted by CAndycane View Post
    Did you get a Vista installation disc? The first thing I always do whenever a client buys a new computer is to reformat and perform a clean install of Windows. Then download all the updated system drivers from Acer's website. Usually there's a significant speed improvement when the system is up and running from a fresh install.
    No disc, pre-installed with recovery via HDD etc.
    I had problems with the Acer website, couldn't register or do anything else, don't know why.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    NJ, USA
    Posts
    6,456

    *

    Quote Originally Posted by grandad View Post
    Just got a new Acer laptop (previous Acer has done me well and still going strong) and it is loaded with Vista Home Premium. It's obviously different and will take a bit of getting use to and it seems a bit bloated, clocks, calendars etc etc - I have heard that there are bits of it that are superfluous and can be removed with benefit.

    Anyone recommend what I should look to remove or modify in Vista to ensure I've got a good and speedy laptop experience?

    TIA
    what model? i just got an acer yesterday and am loving it.
    simplywww: directadmin and cpanel hosting that will rock your socks
    Need some work done in a datacenter in the NYC area? NYC Remote Hands can do it.

    Follow my "deals" Twitter for hardware specials.. @dougysdeals

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,262
    Quote Originally Posted by Dougy View Post
    what model? i just got an acer yesterday and am loving it.
    Aspire 5720 - good spec and price (for the UK!)

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    NJ, USA
    Posts
    6,456
    I got the 7720-6569.

    I was looking at the 7520-5271 but they were out of it.
    simplywww: directadmin and cpanel hosting that will rock your socks
    Need some work done in a datacenter in the NYC area? NYC Remote Hands can do it.

    Follow my "deals" Twitter for hardware specials.. @dougysdeals

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Posts
    1,239
    Evening:

    Is the bloat you are seeing from Vista itself or from third party programs that were pre-installed by Acer? If it's from Vista, you can turn off just about everything and save yourself a reinstall.

    If Acer decided to install a lot of third party programs, then I would go ahead with a nice clean install. Most computer manufacturers will ship you the actual OS CD for little to no cost if you call tech support and request. That might be an option if you want to get rid of Acer's hidden OS recovery partition to claim the HD space.
    TradeViceroy

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    13,277
    Quote Originally Posted by Squorpeeon
    Remove: Vista
    I agree totally!!





    Tinyurl is the answer for posting long urls!!!

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Malaysia
    Posts
    120
    Remove your Vista and install with XP if you want it become smooch or get a powerful laptop which is Dell or HP. They have a very powerful system.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Miami, FL
    Posts
    1,072
    XP Pro runs much faster... unless of course you want the whole 3D animations on the GUI... then.... you are simply stuck.

    good luck...

    I switched to OSX recently cause i DIDN'T want to switch to Vista...

    P.S. My Sony Laptop is Vista Though and OVERALL.... I am having NO Issues with it.
    Biznesshosting, Inc. DBA VOLICO - Intelligent Hosting Solutions
    East Coast Enterprise Dedicated Servers and Miami Colocation.
    managed and unmanaged dedicated servers. High bandwidth colocation. Managed clusters.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Mississauga, ON
    Posts
    377
    If you want to stay with Vista, I strongly recommend you create a vLited Vista DVD with all the crud removed, install it, and tweak it as much as you can. I'd personally wait until SP1 comes out and would slipstream that into the vLite install as well. If you want to squeeze the most speed out of your laptop and don't care for DX10 and some of the other non-graphic features Vista brings, XP Pro SP2 would be the way to go. You can nLite and tweak that install as well; I also recommend the addition of the RyanVM Post-SP2 Update Pack and TweakUI.

    As for what you should remove from Vista, in terms of space, I'd go for the speech/text-to-speech support; it's nearly 2GB (or vLite reported it as such). In terms of other components, google for Vista tweaking guides; they'll inform you of what everything does and what is safe to remove.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    265
    Just keep vista, i got my laptop from pc world and i said can you special order for windows xp and they said no, we do not offer xp anymore and if you install windows cp you may void your warrenty, dam it lol but i have to admit i have had no real issues yet
    Master Reseller Accounts
    Shared Hosting
    VPS hosting
    ToastHosts.com support{at}toasthosts.com

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    1,380
    Quote Originally Posted by Squorpeeon View Post
    Remove: Vista
    Install: XP
    Close!

    Remove: Windows

  15. #15
    Mine is acer 5720 , I tried both (Xp &Xp - 64 bits) and Vista
    With Vista the ram was taking over thne 800 MB on starting up!
    after moding Vista i manged to get it down too 500~550 MB
    With XP , i had problem with my Camera & Wireless (Both on 32 and 64 + sound) but probably now you wont even going to have it due to the drivers on acer page

    Now days i am using Ubuntu on this laptop (Problem with X3100 drivers so i wont suggest it too you , other wise every things works fine)

  16. #16
    Install XP, it works much faster and stable, Vista takes ways to much RAM..

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Australia, Bris
    Posts
    52

    i hate it too

    I agree with 100%
    I want to get rid of mine also, but I was just waiting until I need to actually format the computer.

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    250
    Quote Originally Posted by Squorpeeon View Post
    Remove: Vista
    Install: XP
    lol agreed..

    but first remove all games / side bar application / autoruns / hmm i deleted a whole bunch of stuff now mine runs fine..but i do have 2G of ram in my laptop....
    Who is this infamous HTML i keep hearing of, is she cute?

  19. #19
    Quote Originally Posted by Drewskii View Post
    lol agreed..

    but first remove all games / side bar application / autoruns / hmm i deleted a whole bunch of stuff now mine runs fine..but i do have 2G of ram in my laptop....
    Removing all these will make Vista an XP

  20. #20
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Near Fennville, MI
    Posts
    41
    Format and install Windows XP Pro with the new SP3. I've read from CNET that it is Vista's best Service Pac.
    "I started out in life with nothing, and I've managed to keep most of it!"

    Vern
    http://vernsdidj.com didgeridoo stuff

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •