View Poll Results: which switch is better?

Voters
7. You may not vote on this poll
  • HP Procurve 2650

4 57.14%
  • Extreme Network Summit 48i

3 42.86%

Procurve 2650 vs Extreme 48i

Can anyone suggest which one to go with?

Thank you.

It would be a lot easier to assist in your choice if you provided us with some detail about what your setup is like, your environment, your needs, your expertise level with various network technologies, etc. Otherwise we're just taking shots in the dark. I have a lot of personal experience with both of those devices, but I have no idea which one to suggest to you based on the data you've provided.

Or you could just flip a coin.
    --chuck goolsbee, Prineville, Oregon, USA
    Please note: I no longer work for digital.forest in Seattle, WA, as I left them in early 2010 to pursue an amazing opportunity at an amazing datacenter project elsewhere... I do not speak for digital.forest here. However I still know they provide the best colocation in the Pacific Northwest.

I'm running a 48si. I use it as a core device (which it is not intended for) and have a simple 100mbit uplink and static layer 3 routing with per submit VLANs. It works well and support contracts are easily had with their used stuff and VERY inexpensive. I recently got a Summit 200-24 off ebay for around $130. Got a support contract for $165/yr or so. Had a problem and got the switch replaced under contract. Brand new layer 3 switch for under $300?

However there are some issues with the base layer 3 image which makes it hard to use this as a core device. Main one being that I can't null route blocks to a high distance to stop traffic at the device when that particular subnet goes down. If a link goes down (VLAN down) and the subnet leaves the routing table, the device forwards back and forth between the gateway like mad, creating bad packetloss situations.