Unhappy I need emergency advice with a nightmare reseller hosting situation

Hi, I am in a quandary and am turning to the hosting community for advice. I sell reseller hosting and way back in the beginning I was using a company to manage it for me for a fee for every reseller I signed up. I won't give any names until this is all over. They had promised backups on 2 separate hard drives." Whatever.

Anyway, after a few years of horrendous customer support, which I will elaborate later on, all of the clients still on his servers (at The Planet) went kaput. When I asked when it would be live again, he was rude, short, annoyed by my asking. I've been paying him every month for two years for them. Then he tells me that anything on home is gone and the sites on home2 are still there - my clients need to recreate them in their WHMs.

How am I supposed to ask them to do this? Where are the backups he promised when I signed up? Nonexistent. I have one client who I know has lost over 60 websites, and in all, probably 300 websites have been lost because when I try to recreate them they are either neither there or their mysql databases are gone - which I'm guessing are on his home1 drive.

The last time I complained about sites being down, he promised to cancel all of my resellers so I didn't complain and 1/3 of my resellers canceled on me because they were down so long.

We have since gotten our own managed data center, which has run like a well oiled machine, but I have a handful of resellers still on his co-located Planet servers. I'm actually afraid to contact him. He is the nastiest human being I've ever dealt with and the word professionalism is a joke to him. He is vengeful and lies voraciously. He will lie about people who complain about him - I have learned after googling him. He finds some sadistic power in the ability to turn off his customers' websites, which I have experienced personally and read about others elsewhere.