hosted by liquidweb


Go Back   Web Hosting Talk : Web Hosting Main Forums : Web Hosting : 'Cirtex hosting' - suspicious MSN contact
Reply

Web Hosting Discussions on all aspects of web hosting including past experiences (both negative and positive), choosing a host, questions and answers, and other related subjects. If your service is unavailable, please click here.
Forum Jump

'Cirtex hosting' - suspicious MSN contact

Reply Post New Thread In Web Hosting Subscription
 
Send news tip View All Posts Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-23-2007, 11:36 AM
Jamie Edwards Jamie Edwards is offline
Community Liaison
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 1,288
Exclamation

'Cirtex hosting' - suspicious MSN contact


Several people (including myself) have been contacted by an @cirtexhosting.com address via MSN - for example in this case; billing@cirtexhosting.com. Sometimes, whoever it is contacts customers, ex-customers and even non-customers demanding cPanel information.

I am not even a Cirtex customer, and only accepted the add request to see the inevitable and share the logs.

Quote:
billing@cirtexhosting.com (E-mail address not verified) says:
i'am gary

billing@cirtexhosting.com (E-mail address not verified) says:
billing support of cirtex

billing@cirtexhosting.com (E-mail address not verified) says:
so give me quickly your cpanel login and password

Jamie says:
Why?

billing@cirtexhosting.com (E-mail address not verified) says:
I tell you that we have a problem of athentification you understand or not?

billing@cirtexhosting.com (E-mail address not verified) says:
so quickly sir

Jamie says:
You authenticate yourself to me before I hand over and details

billing@cirtexhosting.com (E-mail address not verified) says:
Ok I will seek your information manually and your account will be suspended by the company ok?

billing@cirtexhosting.com (E-mail address not verified) says:
thanks and have a nice time
Also mentioned here; http://www.webhostingtalk.com/showth...ex#post4867835

__________________
.
»
@jmedwards
- find me on Twitter!
» Kayako help desk software - the world's best helpdesk


Reply With Quote


Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-23-2007, 11:43 AM
IPv6 IPv6 is offline
the ground beneath my feet
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,108
says NOT VERIFIED - and I'm pretty sure from what I've talked to cirtex, they actually know basic english.

do not give them any information.

__________________
semi-retired

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-23-2007, 11:44 AM
ub3r ub3r is offline
Disabled
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: chica go go
Posts: 11,858
Guy must not be very smart if he's phishing for such a small company

[09:41] Mikey: hi my cpanel domain is http://e.photos.cx//cpanel and my username is photscx and my password is plzloveme62069 can you plz help me with my account

[error] 31787#0: *1596721 open() "/home/photodata/www/cpanel" failed (2: No such file or directory), client: 81.192.248.13, server: e.photos.cx, URL: "//cpanel", host: "e.photos.cx"

so there's his ip.

aperature:/usr/local/nginx/logs# host 81.192.248.13
Name: adsl-13-248-192-81.adsl.iam.net.ma
Address: 81.192.248.13


lol.

Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #4  
Old 12-23-2007, 11:44 AM
Henrik Henrik is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 2,200
Are the @cirtexhosting.com addresses verified? (through MSN) If they are, there might be a problem.

__________________
Need personalized hosting or consulting?

Twitter


Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-23-2007, 11:46 AM
Henrik Henrik is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 2,200
Quote:
Originally Posted by ub3r View Post
so there's his ip.
hehe, good one! Though you might have problems to actually get something done when notifying this Maroccan ISP of the abuse.

__________________
Need personalized hosting or consulting?

Twitter


Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-23-2007, 11:47 AM
IPv6 IPv6 is offline
the ground beneath my feet
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,108
Basically; MSN lets you register anything, even stuff like lolhax@fbi.g0v - you will be able to add the email to your msn list, but you can't change its name from "not verified" until you click the link in the email..

__________________
semi-retired

Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-23-2007, 11:49 AM
ub3r ub3r is offline
Disabled
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: chica go go
Posts: 11,858
[09:47] billing@cirtexhosting.com (E-mail Address Not Verified): I am Moroccan and I hacked 17 site cirtex
[09:47] billing@cirtexhosting.com (E-mail Address Not Verified): have a nice day
[09:47] Mikey: oh good job, i'm sure your keyboarding teacher must be really impressed
[09:48] billing@cirtexhosting.com (E-mail Address Not Verified): ciao frog women
[09:48] billing@cirtexhosting.com (E-mail Address Not Verified):


yeah, i don't get it either.

Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-23-2007, 12:08 PM
Adam H Adam H is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1,766
Ive been contacted aswell, hes very impatient.

I just kept giving him fake logins and he soon stopped talking to me

__________________
-- Adam

Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-23-2007, 12:08 PM
TonyB TonyB is offline
Corporate Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,186
ciao frog women!

HAHA

Yeah I'm surprised they're going after cirtexhosting when there are others out there much bigger with probably easier people to target (less knowledge).

__________________
Tony B. - Chief Executive Officer
Hawk Host Inc. Proudly serving websites since 2004
Quality Shared and VPS Hosting
PHP 5.3.x & PHP 5.4.x & PHP 5.5.X Support!

Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-23-2007, 12:11 PM
IPv6 IPv6 is offline
the ground beneath my feet
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,108
frog woman?

__________________
semi-retired

Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 12-23-2007, 12:13 PM
Tom P Tom P is offline
Web Hosting Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 301
Has anybody actually contacted Cirtex about this yet? They can click an alternative link in the email to disable the account (if they have that address set up).

I guess I'll send them a friendly poke towards this thread.

Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 12-23-2007, 01:20 PM
PogiWeb PogiWeb is offline
We need coffee...
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: U.S.A.
Posts: 3,906
Its pretty sad to see someone doing something like this. I think Cirtex sending out an email to their clients would help.

__________________
PogiWeb LLC | sales@pogiweb.com | 1-704-464-8238
PogiWeb.com - The best VPS prices around with Instant Setups and Reseller Program!
Simply the best Shared, Reseller, Virtual Private Server and Dedicated Server Hosting Provider around!
Join us on Facebook!


Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 12-23-2007, 01:28 PM
Cirtex Cirtex is offline
WebHostingTalk Lover
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: New York City
Posts: 7,393
Hi Everyone

We have already noticed this and contacted all customers to not give out their passwords. Thanks for everyones attention in this matter.

Cheers

__________________
█• CirtexHosting • Providing Affordable and Quality Web Hosting & Reseller Hosting since 2003
█• LINUX based cPANEL/WHM Shared and Reseller Web Hosting with Fantastico
█• HostV VPS • Premium Virtual Private Servers & Dedicated Servers powered by cPanel/WHM
█• We transfer your sites over quickly! • I eat penguins for breakfast ...

Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 12-28-2007, 04:19 AM
EngrTun EngrTun is offline
Junior Guru Wannabe
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cirtex View Post
Hi Everyone

We have already noticed this and contacted all customers to not give out their passwords. Thanks for everyones attention in this matter.

Cheers
Thanks for clarification Cirtex, but can you tell us who if support@cirtexhosting.com is your true MSN or not?

Its listed in your WHT profile, as MSN contact.

I have experienced same as the thread starter, but he did not contacted me .. I did contact at that email and also, it was not saying (NOT VERIFIED).

so..?

Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 12-28-2007, 05:16 AM
Asher S Asher S is offline
Webhosting Professional
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Gotham City
Posts: 1,849
"athentification" ... That enough should be alone for anyone to block that guy.

__________________
[[ Reyox Communications / USA based cloud servers & support / 9 years of hosting websites ]]
[[ Affordable ASP.NET4, ColdFusion, PHP & MS-SQL, MySQL, cPanel/WHM & Windows Reseller Hosting + Virtual Private Servers ]]
(www.reyox.com) - Mention WHT and get a discount on your first month!

Reply With Quote
Reply

Related posts from TheWhir.com
Title Type Date Posted
Fahrenheit Marketing to Foot the Bill for 500 Texas Non-Profits' Web Hosting Web Hosting News 2012-12-31 16:22:22
Get listed in WHIR Magazine's 6th Annual Hottest Hosts Issue coming in January 2013 Blog 2012-12-28 11:03:01
Get listed in WHIR Magazine's 5th Annual Hottest Hosts Issue coming in January 2012 Blog 2011-10-18 18:35:27
Web Host Superb Partners with Commtouch to Prevent Outbound Spam Web Hosting News 2011-08-12 17:40:30
WordPress Forces Password Reset After Suspicious Activity on Plugins Detected Web Hosting News 2011-06-22 14:56:47


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Postbit Selector

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump
Login:
Log in with your username and password
Username:
Password:



Forgot Password?
Advertisement:
Web Hosting News:



 

X

Welcome to WebHostingTalk.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

WebHostingTalk.com is the largest, most influentual web hosting community on the Internet. Join us by filling in the form below.


(4 digit year)

Already a member?