Looking for guidance

I'm considering purchasing a VPS package. I don't know if I should though. Currently, I am with ResellerZoom and I am very unhappy with their level of support. Previously, I was with hostingplex.com under a regular shared hosting plan and was very unhappy with their support.

At first, ResellerZoom had good support, but it is ending 1 year with them and my sites have gone down 4 or 5 times. Their online chat is barely available when there is a problem, and even then most of the time their response is "submit a ticket".

I originally got a reseller plan for two reasons:

1. To host my website, my fathers, and any future ones that I wanted. I also wanted the ability to offer free websites to realtors that I work with (I'm a mortgage broker). I haven't done it yet but I want that option.

2. I thought that by going with resellerzoom (recommended by users on this site last year), I would be able to have a hosting company on autopilot (because they offer end user support).

I'm glad that I didn't do that because their support is aweful and I would've gotten a bad name pretty quick!

Anyway... I've been thinking of getting a VPS. The main reason is that I can have more control over the system. My website(s) are quite slow and I figured with a vps, I can get it going better.

Another reason that I was thinking of it, was that I am going to start implementing an autoresponder program. I'm want to purchase the software and have it running on my server rather than paying a monthly subscription for it through aweber or getresponse or something like that. ResellerZoom has just informed me that if I surpase sending out 400 emails within one hour that they will cut me off. I'm not going to be at that level yet, but I just don't want someone having that much control over my business.