Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 34
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    265

    How long does it take for a webhost to refresh website?

    When you upload a new version of your website, how long does it usually take for a webhost to update? So, when you go to your webpage, how long does it take that the new version is there?

    I am with Synhosting, and I uploaded a new version of my webpage eleven hours ago, and I still see my old website there.

    Can anyone fill me in, please, if this is within the normal range?

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Normally on most hosts your update takes effect immediately because you are updating the live content. If Synhosting has some sort of load balanced environment they might take longer to move your changes across the servers. However that is usually not the case, most hosts would use a SAN and again your change will be immediate. Are you sure you editing the right content?

    Have you cleared your cache on your browser?
    Last edited by SH-John; 12-22-2007 at 07:24 PM. Reason: typo and after thought

  3. #3
    Immediately
    OCEAN HOST
    www.ocean-host.com
    Get Online. Reach Worldwide.
    Check our uptime

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    30
    it should take effect immediately. Have you cleared your cache on your browser?

  5. #5
    You are not seeing the new changes most likely due to your browser cache, not because of your web host. The changes take affect immediately on the server.
    Wirenine.com Pure SSD Premium DDoS Protected Hosting
    Shared, Reseller, Managed VPS & WordPress hosting 24/7 US based Support
    100% Uptime 60 Day Money Back Guarantee! Tweet us @wirenine Like US on Facebook

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Istanbul, Turkey
    Posts
    3,229
    Try refreshing the page with CTRL + F5 instead of just F5.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    265
    I emptied the cache.

    There's still the old website. Now it's seventeen hours that I uploaded the update.

    I guess I'll write a trouble ticket.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    1,250
    Is it possible that you didn't load the right file to the right place?
    Need money? Got money? Want to talk? The Money Forums
    New! Web hosting jobs!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    West Michigan, USA
    Posts
    9,675
    I'm guessing you uploaded it to the wrong area.

    --Tina
    ||| 99.999% Uptime SLA!!!
    Plenty of space and bandwidth to fit your needs!
    www.AEIandYou.com - - (WP Friendly - Premium Reseller Hosting and Cheap Dedicated Servers)

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Amex & Amex
    Posts
    1,276
    Quote Originally Posted by AH-Tina View Post
    I'm guessing you uploaded it to the wrong area.

    --Tina
    That's what I would think as well. It should be absolutely immediate, if not less

    Check to make sure you overwrite the EXACT place the original file was....if you still experience this, definitely contac them as something is not right.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    265
    I received a reply from synhosting.

    Yes, the files landed in the wrong place, for some reason.

    The synhosting representative said, he moved the files for me.

    But I went to my site, and it's still the old site.

    I'll try uploading it again. I'm using Fetch, and it shouldn't cause any trouble.

    Thanks for the replies.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    265
    This is weird.

    I have the new site on my desktop. When I click on index, the new site opens.

    I have uploaded the new site to the server. But it still loads the old website.

    Do I have to delete the old website in order to get the new one? I though a newer file would always overwrite the old file, or at least take the number 1 spot?

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    265
    I deleted the old site, and the new site is still there.

    But when I try to load my site, I get a "not found" message, even though the site file is there.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    265
    I can't make it work.

    After uploading the new site again, I only get an "index of/" message instead of my site.

    It showed my old website, an even older website, and my new website.

    I deleted the two older website from the server, and when I go to my address, I still get an "index of/", this time called "parental directory" and "mysite". If I click on "mysite", my new site loads.

    But why doesn't it load right away? Why does it show me that index?

    What am I doing wrong here?
    Last edited by Host Ghost; 12-23-2007 at 03:04 AM.

  15. #15
    Are you sure there's a file called index.html or index.htm in there?
    Cpanel Hosting - Fast , Reliable, Stable, Secure - Since 1996
    CPanel/WHM Fantastico RVSkin Dual Quad Core Servers Raid 10 24x7 Toll-Free Phone Support

  16. #16
    Try creating a test page mytest.html upload it and try pulling it using the domain. If it doesn't load then you are not uploading it to the correct directory.
    Datums Internet Solutions, LLC
    Systems Engineering & Managed Hosting Services
    Complex Hosting Consultants

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    522
    Yes, it sounds like you aren't uploading it to the right directory. Upload to the public_html, www or http_docs folder, or something that has a similar name if none of the above are shown on your FTP.
    Looking for Work level 1-3 Support Tech, Sales/billing tech, Odd management Jobs, and PHP/Mysql small jobs.
    PM me or drop me an email at mm(AT)gotannex(dot)com
    http://monitor.gotannex.com/

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Scottsbluff, NE
    Posts
    1,965
    Did you just recently switch to their hosting? ie: within the past couple days.

    I'm suprised nobody has asked this, but are your DNS setup right? You could very well be uploading to an old server
    $this->hasFlavr() ? $nom->nom('nom') : $want->doNot()

  19. #19
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    35
    Quote Originally Posted by Host Ghost View Post
    When you upload a new version of your website, how long does it usually take for a webhost to update? So, when you go to your webpage, how long does it take that the new version is there?

    I am with Synhosting, and I uploaded a new version of my webpage eleven hours ago, and I still see my old website there.

    Can anyone fill me in, please, if this is within the normal range?

    Thanks.
    It appears your hosting company, Synhosting.com, are using cPanel/WHM so please make sure you are uploading your new version of your website under /public_html directory (full path is /home/yourusername/public_html). Also, make sure you have changed your domain nameservers (DNS) to your new hosting DNS and your domain should be activated and pointed to your new host's server within 48 hours.

    If I am not mistaken, these are the name servers you should use for your domain:

    dns1.synhosting.com
    72.9.158.203
    dns2.synhosting.com
    72.9.151.83


    By the way, this is really a simple issue so i think your host should be the only one who can take care of this problem for you.

    Hope this may help.

  20. #20
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    4,347
    11 hours? When i upload something the changes are there right away. You should ask other people if they see the changes.

    - Daniel
    Managed & Unmanaged VPS's [OpenVZ & KVM] by tmzVPS.com | FAST SSD Accelerated Plans!
    █ Locations in California, Florida & London - Legal Adult Content Allowed! 24/7 Certified Support.
    DDOS Protected VPS [KVM] - cPanel/WHM | Premium Softaculous | Data Migration Included!
    █ INSTANT SETUP | Paypal, Skrill, 2checkout, BitCoin & all Major Credit Cards Accepted!

  21. #21
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    265
    Thanks for all your replies.

    I have been with synhosting for a while, and, yes, the DNS is fine.

    Yes, I uploaded the file into public.html.

    The index file is there. It is inside the website file.

    I copied this index file, and put it also outside the file, but then I got a "not found" error.

    It looks like it's right where it is, inside the file.

    I still get the index page with the parent directory link, and the mysite link.

  22. #22
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Scottsbluff, NE
    Posts
    1,965
    Could you share your link? Maybe it's just your PC.

    You're uploading it to public_html, not public.html right?
    $this->hasFlavr() ? $nom->nom('nom') : $want->doNot()

  23. #23
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    4,347
    Please send us the link so we can check. Clean your cookies and your cache. That might help.

    - Daniel
    Managed & Unmanaged VPS's [OpenVZ & KVM] by tmzVPS.com | FAST SSD Accelerated Plans!
    █ Locations in California, Florida & London - Legal Adult Content Allowed! 24/7 Certified Support.
    DDOS Protected VPS [KVM] - cPanel/WHM | Premium Softaculous | Data Migration Included!
    █ INSTANT SETUP | Paypal, Skrill, 2checkout, BitCoin & all Major Credit Cards Accepted!

  24. #24
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    265
    I got a mail from synhosting support.

    It says that my software makes a subdirectory.

    Does he mean iWeb does that?

    "

    Right now your website is located under:
    /public_html/mysite/index.html

    Whereas it should be:
    /public_html/index.html

    "

    I don't know how I get this "mysite" out of the directory entry.

    I think the problem is that iWeb places your site as a folder on your desktop, and this folder has a name: "mysite". This name seems to show up in the directory, and so creating a subdirectory.

    I do not know where you can see and change directory changes.

    Thanks!

  25. #25
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    265
    Quote Originally Posted by Mr. Obvious View Post
    Could you share your link? Maybe it's just your PC.

    You're uploading it to public_html, not public.html right?
    It's at public_html.

    I actually don't see a public.html here.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Related Posts from theWHIR.com

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •