Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    44

    Investigating network issue

    I have a siteon dixiesys that I can't reach to but I believe its some sort of network issue because as far as I can tell the server is up and most others can load the site. Dixiesys' ticket reply is that they don't see anything and my IP is not blocked at their end so I should check with my ISP, I tried my ISP but as I expected they tell me there is nothing that they have done, based on the traceroute something is happening somewhere on the way, any advice on how to deal with an issue like this would be appreciated.



    Tracing route to longlivesoccer.com [207.210.72.89]
    over a maximum of 30 hops:

    1 1 ms 1 ms 1 ms 192.168.1.1
    2 5 ms 1 ms 1 ms 10.0.0.2
    3 66 ms 71 ms 65 ms loop0.ar00.yul1.ca.inter.net [XXXX]
    4 66 ms 65 ms 68 ms giga-2-0-100.bb00.yul1.ca.inter.net [206.126.95.
    1]
    5 67 ms 67 ms 72 ms 151.po1.ar1.mtl1.ca.nlayer.net [69.31.142.9]
    6 91 ms 76 ms 76 ms 0.tge1-4.ar1.nyc3.us.nlayer.net [69.22.142.109]

    7 74 ms 75 ms 75 ms 0.xe-0-1-0.cr2.nyc3.us.nlayer.net [69.31.95.126]

    8 82 ms 81 ms 81 ms xe-0-2-0.cr2.iad1.us.nlayer.net [69.22.142.37]
    9 * * * Request timed out.
    10 * * * Request timed out.
    11 * * * Request timed out.
    12 * * * Request timed out.
    13 * * * Request timed out.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Miami Beach, FL, USA
    Posts
    764
    It loads fine from here (Florida).

  3. #3
    Have Dixie do a trace to where you are connecting from and see if the path is different. Most likely it is either inside nlayer or hop 9 could be where they hand off to somewhere else. Also if nlayer has a looking glass, try tracing to you and Dixie from it, and see what it does.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    New York, NY
    Posts
    10,574
    Quote Originally Posted by Lockjaw View Post
    Have Dixie do a trace to where you are connecting from and see if the path is different. Most likely it is either inside nlayer or hop 9 could be where they hand off to somewhere else. Also if nlayer has a looking glass, try tracing to you and Dixie from it, and see what it does.
    Good suggestions, I concur.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    44
    I found this from nlayer's site at http://www.nlayer.net/network/tools/

    traceroute to my IP looks fine:

    traceroute to 216.99.56.208 (216.99.56.208) from 69.31.31.6, 30 hops max, 40 byte packets
    1 nlayer.fe3-2.hr2.iad1.us.nlayer.net (69.31.31.1) 0.487 ms 0.301 ms 0.233 ms
    2 xe-2-1-0.cr1.ord1.us.nlayer.net (69.31.111.133) 18.102 ms 0.161 ms 0.137 ms
    3 xe-2-1-0.cr2.iad1.us.nlayer.net (69.22.142.61) 18.331 ms 18.324 ms 18.291 ms
    4 xe-1-3-0.cr2.nyc3.us.nlayer.net (69.22.142.38) 23.940 ms 23.974 ms 53.225 ms
    5 tge2-4.ar1.nyc3.us.nlayer.net (69.31.95.125) 24.066 ms 24.079 ms 24.079 ms
    6 0.tge1-1.ar1.mtl1.us.nlayer.net (69.22.142.110) 32.472 ms 32.800 ms 32.472 ms
    7 interdotnet.151.po1.ar1.mtl1.ca.nlayer.net (69.31.142.10) 32.347 ms 32.293 ms 32.451 ms
    8 faste-0-0-100.ar00.yul1.ca.inter.net (206.126.95.2) 32.994 ms 34.336 ms 32.779 ms
    9 ip-208.56.99.216.dsl-cust.ca.inter.net (216.99.56.208) 96.057 ms 95.712 ms 96.689 ms

    But using the same tool to traceroute to the server IP 207.210.72.89 the page takes a long time and eventually gives,

    traceroute to 207.210.72.89 (207.210.72.89) from 69.31.31.6, 30 hops max, 40 byte packets
    1 nlayer.fe3-2.hr2.iad1.us.nlayer.net (69.31.31.1) 0.334 ms 0.267 ms 0.229 ms
    2 xe-2-2-0.cr1.ord1.us.nlayer.net (69.31.111.137) 0.148 ms 0.164 ms 0.139 ms
    3 * * *
    4 gnax.ge2-13.br01.atl01.pccwbtn.net (63.216.31.130) 40.460 ms 40.448 ms 40.526 ms
    5 L3-ATL-17-g0-1.gnax.net (63.247.65.86) 105.381 ms 40.670 ms 40.625 ms
    6 * * *
    7 * * *
    8 * * *
    9 * * *
    10 * * *
    11 * * *
    12 * * *
    13 * * *
    14 * * *
    15 * * *
    16 * * *
    17 * * *
    18 * * *
    19 * * *
    20 * * *
    21 * * *
    22 * * *
    23 * * *
    24 * * *
    25 * * *
    26 * * *
    27 * * *
    28 * * *
    29 * * *
    30 * * *

    I also noticed I can't load gnax.com (I believe they are dixie's DC?) on my machine (I am sending this additional info to Gary at dixie) but would appreciate suggestions as to next step

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Memphis, TN
    Posts
    1,225
    Site loads for me from Memphis, TN.

    My suggestion would be like the others....have dixie to a trace from their network to you...then lets see what the results are.

  7. #7
    also, try GNAX's looking glass (god i loves me that google):

    http://gold.gnax.net/tracert/tracert.pl

    By default, loading that page automatically starts a trace to whatever IP loaded the page, and you can enter another IP to trace to.

    I just tried it to your IP, and it doesn't look like it leaves their network and is sitting at having completed 3 hops. So have Dixie look again, and this time come armed with this information. It can only help them trace down a problem (or more likely, they'll call GNAX).
    Last edited by Lockjaw; 12-22-2007 at 09:33 PM.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    44
    I can't load the gnax page to try that but I believe Gary at dixiesys is in touch with them and doing what he can. I am at a loss of what could cause this.

  9. #9
    Bah, sorry brainfart, forgot you couldn't even reach GNAX. Most likely congestion or a flapping link. Less likely someone fat-fingered a config on GNAX equipment.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    44
    This got fixed, not exactly sure what was causing it but it was at gnax must have been some routing config. Thanx everybody who replied here and also Gary at dixiesys

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •