is managed VPS right for me?

Hi all,

I've been reading a bunch of messages here and in the Managed Services forum, and I think I'm on the right track. (I posted over there too since I'm not sure which forum is the right one for this question). I'm hoping you can give me a "sure, do that" or "no! that's stupid!" response or additional advice. Here's the situation:

I'm a grad student, and my school does not offer reliable hosting. We're using a MediaWiki and CoSign (an Apache module) for community communication and as a research project. I need hosting that manages servers because I'm a developer, not a sysadmin, and my only server admin experience is with Mac OS X Server. We don't have the technical expertise or time to do everything for our server, but we don't need mission-critical support. We want the wiki to work nearly all the time, and we want to be able to use CoSign so that users have a single signon with other university resources. It would be great if we could get some help getting MediaWiki and CoSign to work together, but that's not a deal-breaker. I just finished building all this for our dev server - the Mac - and I don't want to do all this again. Linux is fine, the OS doesn't matter much to MediaWiki and CoSign. Yes, yes, I know it's not great to use different platforms for development and production, but that's what I have available right now.

Does it sound like a good scenario for managed VPS hosting? I've looked at jaguarpc.com, servint.com, and spry.com, and I'm trying to decide where to go. I'm pretty sure I can get about $50/month out of my advisor for hosting. He's supportive and definitely wants the hosting done offsite and not by grad students.

What do you think?

Thank you for your time!
    Libby

Links (oops, can't link because this is my first post)
    MediaWiki: mediawiki DOT org
    CoSign: weblogin DOT org