hosted by liquidweb


Go Back   Web Hosting Talk : Web Hosting Main Forums : Specialty Hosting and Markets : Proxy
Reply

Forum Jump

Proxy

Reply Post New Thread In Specialty Hosting and Markets Subscription
 
Send news tip View All Posts Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-19-2007, 10:53 AM
dwscenter dwscenter is offline
WHT Addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 137

Proxy


Im not sure if this is the right forum to post this question I am from the US however residing abroad in Costa Rica Im trying to see if anyone knows how to setup a proxy that I can put into my linksys or something that will allow for me to show a US address over the CR IP as I try to go to alot of different sites in the US and it says I am out of the area and cannot view this site, so I have multiple servers that hopefully I can use the IP of one of these and broadcast as if Im coming from the US if anyone has any ideas on this I would love to hear them as I am tired of not being able to view alot of the sites I need to view

Thanks
Tom



Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-22-2007, 04:41 PM
vn_darwin vn_darwin is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 24
Hi Tom

You might want to try installing squid on one of your dedicated machines and run it as proxy-only, that is if you don't want to store the pages you are viewing.

Then just configure your browser to point to that machine as its proxy. No need to configure your router to redirect traffic on http port to your proxy to simplify things.

Just make sure you configure the ACLs properly so it will not abused and used as a public proxy server.

Hope this helps.

__________________
Talk'n'Tickets
Outsourced Phone and Ticket Support for Web Hosts
http://www.talkntickets.com
US Toll-Free:1-800-650-8870, UK Toll-Free:0800-118-2105, Australia Toll-Free:1800-046-664

  #3  
Old 12-27-2007, 12:07 PM
abluegrape abluegrape is offline
Aspiring Evangelist
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 389
I have a couple of vps set up running antinat which only allows my ip through. Works well for a sockss proxy.

Sponsored Links
  #4  
Old 01-04-2008, 11:21 AM
chrisranjana chrisranjana is offline
Php Programmer/Php Developer
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: chennai , tamil nadu , IN
Posts: 1,416
You could install a proxy locally or you can set the proxy of your browser to a remote free one

__________________
Chris, Developer/Programmer,
Php laravel developers,
Ruby on Rails developers,
www.chrisranjana.com

  #5  
Old 01-04-2008, 06:48 PM
SC-Daniel SC-Daniel is offline
Corporate Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Jax, FL
Posts: 2,683
You could use VPN to access your home machine and then remote desktop in and use your browser on your home computer... Thus you end up using your US IP.

Just a thought.

__________________
Daniel | Server Complete, LLC
Windows VPS // Dedicated Servers // Backup Services
Wholly owned hardware and self operated network (AS19531) in Jacksonville, FL

  #6  
Old 02-05-2008, 10:26 PM
markhard markhard is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 802
i think you better sign up for a small US VPS package and install squid proxy there and then use that proxy server on your browser

__________________
HalfDedi.com Half Dedicated Half Price
We provide affordable VPS hosting solution Singapore datacenter

  #7  
Old 02-21-2008, 04:19 PM
alphonse_blanc alphonse_blanc is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 11
You saied you have some servers, if you have ssh access you can setup a openvpn or poptop vpn server and tunnel all your traffic trough the vpn. Would be a good solution in my opinion.

Reply

Related posts from TheWhir.com
Title Type Date Posted
WHMCS Encourages Users to Upgrade as Part of Important Security Update Web Hosting News 2014-08-27 12:05:55
London Police Arrest Man who Ran Proxy Server Giving Access to Blocked Websites Web Hosting News 2014-08-07 11:33:57
CloudFlare Acquires VPN and Security Provider CryptoSeal Web Hosting News 2014-06-18 17:01:31
AQUA Networks Limited Listing 2014-01-27 20:52:06
Revenge Porn Site Owner Faces Multiple Felony Charges Web Hosting News 2013-12-11 13:57:30


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Postbit Selector

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump
Login:
Log in with your username and password
Username:
Password:



Forgot Password?
Advertisement:
Web Hosting News:



 

X

Welcome to WebHostingTalk.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

WebHostingTalk.com is the largest, most influentual web hosting community on the Internet. Join us by filling in the form below.


(4 digit year)

Already a member?