Question newbie questions, any help appreciated

I've been plowing thru the last few pages of archives here, and I still feel like I have some questions. This is my first time evaluating dedicated hosting, and I'd appreciate any help!

back story
    I've been hosting my own couple meager sites (mainly used for staging/developing web projects for my freelance clients) on my DSL line. I'm right now in the midst of a 9 day+ outage, and I have declared it "the last straw", DSL just can't be relied on. In fact, I just ditched the DSL and switched to a cable modem.

It just so happens that I am also working on another project which involves a custom multiplayer game server -- needless to say, not something I can host in a shared environemnt.

So, I decided to take the plunge and get a dedicated server, and pull in a couple friends to help defray costs. Figure I get 10 people (each with their 1-2 low traffic sites), we each chip in 20/mo, and we can cover a 200/mo dedicated server.

needs
    apache, php, mysql, latest java R.E., some kind of mail server, and, if possible, one of those control panel do-dads.

questions
    1. I know this is unanswerable question of this forum, but I'm having a lot of trouble seeing what causes the huge price differences I see... eg here are two examples:
    --
    Host bandwidth/mo cost/mo
    pair.com 30GB/mo $250/mo
    nocster.net 300GB/mo $99/mo
    --
    ...and thats for comparable machines. People here mostly seem to like nocster, but why are they $150/mo cheaper AND x10 the bandwidth? I saw some evidence that this had to do with who they purchased their bandwidth from, but I'm still confused about the real difference. Good business sense would indicate that nocster has to be cutting some kind of corners, or pair is sending a crate of caviar with their invoices. I really don't want to go over $200/mo, but I also don't want to get screwed.