hosted by liquidweb

Go Back   Web Hosting Talk : Web Hosting Main Forums : Web Hosting : adding Users in ASP.NET shared hosting ?

Forum Jump

adding Users in ASP.NET shared hosting ?

Reply Post New Thread In Web Hosting Subscription

Send news tip View All Posts Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old
Web Hosting Evangelist

adding Users in ASP.NET shared hosting ?

I'm a novice to Windows hosting. I have an account with DailyRazor which is ASP.NET 2.0 with Microsoft SQL Server 2005. It has Plesk 8.2 control panel.

When I go in and try to add a User to the SubWeb which contains all the ASP.NET files from a project, I get the error message The user 'xxxxxxxx' is not authorized to execute the 'Create Accounts' method.

Is this a webserver configuration error or something I did wrong?

If it is something I did wrong, how do I fix it?

Thanks in advance.

Sponsored Links
Old
Aspiring Evangelist

Hello,

It seems that you have not rights to create a new user.
Contact you hosting provider.

Regards

Old
Web Hosting Master

This is definately something you should talk to your hosting provider about.

Sponsored Links
Old
Web Hosting Evangelist

Unfortunately, FP Webadmin does not allow to create accounts. Please create account via Plesk control panel.

This is the response I received from DailyRazor.

Is this correct ????

Old
Web Hosting Master

Yes this is correct. Allowing users to manage FP directly through the webadmin would cause a major security hole.

Old
Web Hosting Guru

Yep, Plesk is how you should go about creating users at most hosts.

www.activehost.com sales@activehost.com 1-518-372-2842

Old
Web Hosting Evangelist

Thank you all for the responses.

Unfortunately, using Plesk to create users does not exactly duplicate what the ASP.NET Website Administraton does with regards to writing the information to a SQL Server database.

Old
Web Hosting Guru