hosted by liquidweb


Go Back   Web Hosting Talk : Web Hosting Main Forums : Hosting Security and Technology : Looking for DNS Service.
Reply

Forum Jump

Looking for DNS Service.

Reply Post New Thread In Hosting Security and Technology Subscription
 
Send news tip View All Posts Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old
Junior Guru Wannabe
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 95

Looking for DNS Service.


Unsure if this is the right place for this post but will continue you anyway.

I have a multi-server setup DB, Web, Media etc..

Unsure if this is the right way to go about it but I setup for example:

Web Server:
bleach-network.com

DNS
m1 - A - Media 1 IP
m2 - A - Media 2 IP

Media 1:
m1.bleach-network.com

Media2:
m2.bleach-network.com


Now this works and everything works fine.

BUT If the Web Server goes down

m1. & m2. no longer resolve as they are setup on the web server

So im looking for a DNS Service where I can setup these so if a server does go down the DNS still resolves correctly.

OR, do I not need a DNS service? and im just setting up things a little wrong?

Thanks In Advance



Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Kerala, India
Posts: 4,740
Either you can go for a third party dns service or you can buy a reseller account somewhere else and setup dns servers and zones for your domains configured on the webserver in this reseller account. You can set IN A address in the zone file of the domain there pointing to your webserver IP. In this case, when your webserver goes down dns server will be up.

__________________
David | www.cliffsupport.com
Affordable Server Management Solutions sales AT cliffsupport DOT com
CliffWebManager | Access WHM from iPhone and Android

  #3  
Old
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 824
Are Web Server and Media 1 and 2 on the same machine? If so, it's pointless as everything will go down together. But if Web Server, Media 1 and 2 are all on different machine then it's do-able. Of course DNS cannot be on the same machine as any of them.

__________________
OCEAN HOST
www.ocean-host.com
Get Online. Reach Worldwide.
Check our uptime

Sponsored Links
  #4  
Old
Junior Guru Wannabe
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 95
Web Server, Media 1 & Media 2 are all seperate servers.

  #5  
Old
Community Liaison 2.0
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Australia
Posts: 5,825
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oceanworld View Post
Of course DNS cannot be on the same machine as any of them.
Why not?

ContemptX: Are you looking for some kind of failover or just a more reliable DNS service? Since you have 3 physical servers already a perfectly reasonable solution for you would be to run DNS on all 3 (particularly if they're in different locations). If you do this though you'll need to set them up to synchronize, most likely by having the media servers work as slaves to the web server. Alternatively you can just use an external DNS service, which is cheap and easy.

If you want failover it's still doable on your own servers but tricky - the external DNS service is a particularly attractive option in this case.

__________________
Chris

"Some problems are so complex that you have to be highly intelligent and well informed just to be undecided about them." - Laurence J. Peter

  #6  
Old
******* Unleaded
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 3,829
You should probably go with one of the more reasonable managed dns services. That way you get all those cpu cycles off your machine and you benefit from a service with good uptime.

As long as you are not using short ttl's or failover services, their prices can't be beat. You can then dedicate the boxes to more productive uses.

__________________
edgedirector.com
managed dns global failover and load balance (gslb)
exactstate.com
uptime report for webhostingtalk.com

  #7  
Old
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 824
Why not put everything (Webserver,DNS,Media1,Media2) on all 3 servers? That way nothing will go down unless ALL 3 servers are down simultaneously.

__________________
OCEAN HOST
www.ocean-host.com
Get Online. Reach Worldwide.
Check our uptime

  #8  
Old
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Kerala, India
Posts: 4,740
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oceanworld View Post
Why not put everything (Webserver,DNS,Media1,Media2) on all 3 servers?

Sounds good, but not that easy

__________________
David | www.cliffsupport.com
Affordable Server Management Solutions sales AT cliffsupport DOT com
CliffWebManager | Access WHM from iPhone and Android

Reply

Related posts from TheWhir.com
Title Type Date Posted
How Prepared are You for the Changing DDoS Landscape? Here’s 5 Must-Knows for Every Service Provider Webinars 2014-12-09 16:06:57
Building a Big Data Service Webinars 2014-10-03 10:50:14
Service Providers Push Updates to Fight OpenSSL Heartbleed Bug Web Hosting News 2014-05-01 08:31:27
US Consumers Would Rather Visit the Dentist Than Call Customer Service: CorvisaCloud Web Hosting News 2013-10-29 13:49:07
VMware Wants Your Customers Blog 2013-09-03 11:24:47


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Postbit Selector

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump
Login:
Log in with your username and password
Username:
Password:



Forgot Password?
WHT Host Brief Email:

We respect your privacy. We will never sell, rent, or give away your address to any outside party, ever.

Advertisement:
Web Hosting News:
WHT Membership
WHT Membership



 

X

Welcome to WebHostingTalk.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

WebHostingTalk.com is the largest, most influentual web hosting community on the Internet. Join us by filling in the form below.


(4 digit year)

Already a member?