Results 1 to 16 of 16
  1. #1

    Burn RH Linux 7.3 into cdrom

    Hello,

    I have tried two methods, but I couldn't get it to work.

    Method 1:
    I burnt disk 1's iso file to the cdrom, but it failed to boot into Linux.

    Method 2:
    I used WinRAR to extract disk 1's iso file and burnt it into cd, but it failed to boot into Linux.

    I used RH Linux 7.1 disk and had no problem booting into Linux. Therefore, you don't have to question if it is able to boot up via cdrom.

    Did I miss any steps?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    153
    Asia,
    First when you downloaded the ISO you verified that the md5sum was correct right? Otherwise its pointless to even attempt a burn with a corrupted ISO. Second I would use Burning software that has the ISO feature built in. Some like Adaptec DirectCD or whatever its called have this feature built in. Good luck and start by verifing the sum first.

  3. #3
    Just want to verify something.

    When you burn it into the cd, you burn the iso file (one file) or do you extra the iso and then it burn it?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Modesto, CA
    Posts
    3,414
    Your software should allow you to "Create CD from ISO", it will do the rest.
    dotGig
    <:<: [Fruit eating linux administrator]

  5. #5
    I'm using Adaptec CD Creator 4.


    I have these three (3) options under "File" tab


    1. Create CD
    2. Create CD Image
    3. Create CD from CD Image

    Are you using Apeaptec CD Creator 4?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Modesto, CA
    Posts
    3,414
    3 is what you want to select.
    dotGig
    <:<: [Fruit eating linux administrator]

  7. #7
    Thanks!

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Modesto, CA
    Posts
    3,414
    You bet, good luck
    dotGig
    <:<: [Fruit eating linux administrator]

  9. #9
    There could be another problem even if you checked the m5 checksum and burnt it correctly. You need to make sure you can boot from cdrom by checking in your BIOS.
    Affordable Hosting Solutions
    CitadelHost.com

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    153
    Or just make a boot floppy with the boot.img on to it. There are instructions on the docs.

  11. #11
    I selected "Create CD from CD Image" in my Adaptec CD Creator 4, and it worked.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Modesto, CA
    Posts
    3,414
    All right! good job!
    dotGig
    <:<: [Fruit eating linux administrator]

  13. #13
    Guess I need to try it again. I have 4 CDs that I've tried to burn with 7.3 Maybe it was NTI CD Maker that didn't do good.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    The Big Easy -New Orleans
    Posts
    341
    Originally posted by mhalbrook
    Guess I need to try it again. I have 4 CDs that I've tried to burn with 7.3 Maybe it was NTI CD Maker that didn't do good.
    NTI works fine for this.
    Choose "Create CD from ISO CD Image file..." from File menu.

    Did it a few days ago myself.

  15. #15
    Well for somereason, now NTI doesn't even want to see that I have a burner. Roxio sees it.. NTI doesn't. Oh well time to reformat and re-install everything anyway..

  16. #16
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Modesto, CA
    Posts
    3,414
    Sounds like you have 4.2.75 of NTI

    I think the upgrade resolves issues with newer burners.

    Try to get an upgrade, or dance a jig.
    dotGig
    <:<: [Fruit eating linux administrator]

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •