Results 1 to 33 of 33
  1. #1

    Question laptop for co-location

    i dont know about co-location and maybe it sound silly, but can i use my old laptop for co-location?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Wichita, Ks, USA
    Posts
    1,984
    you can, but wouldnt be advised laptops are not meant to run non stop 24/7 exp. under any type of loads, id give it 2 months before it fried more then likely from overheating
    affordablecolo.com carrier grade colocation at a affordable price!
    Charles Baker - Company Operations
    1-866-316-HOST

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    1,745
    My laptop runs 24/7 with no problems whatsoever. It also has a lovely "hand warmer" at the side (CPU Fan)

    But as Charles said, laptops aren't designed to be servers. They have all sorts of power management features to save power. You could find that your HDD shuts itself down, etc. causing some reliability problems.

    --Shaun
    Shaun Ewing
    http://shaun.net

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Wichita, Ks, USA
    Posts
    1,984
    your laptop runs 24/7 functioning as a server all it would be eventually is a hand warmer heh
    affordablecolo.com carrier grade colocation at a affordable price!
    Charles Baker - Company Operations
    1-866-316-HOST

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Palm Beach, FL
    Posts
    1,095
    Originally posted by cbaker17
    you can, but wouldnt be advised laptops are not meant to run non stop 24/7 exp. under any type of loads, id give it 2 months before it fried more then likely from overheating
    I had my laptop running for about 2 years straight before I got the desktop I have now. It's an IBM Thinkpad. I turned off all of the power management features as they got annoying. I still have the laptop and it still works like the day I got it (it gets used frequently).

    Although it is wierd to colo a laptop, I don't think there's anything wrong with it. Just make sure the customer knows it might fail as it's not meant to run in a server environment (rack/cab), and if they agree, why not?

    I think it'll be fine running non-stop, though.
    Alex Llera
    Professional Server Management
    FreeBSD|Linux|HSphere|Cpanel|Plesk

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Dayton, Ohio
    Posts
    4,962
    Originally posted by allera

    I had my laptop running for about 2 years straight before I got the desktop I have now. It's an IBM Thinkpad. I turned off all of the power management features as they got annoying. I still have the laptop and it still works like the day I got it (it gets used frequently).

    Although it is wierd to colo a laptop, I don't think there's anything wrong with it. Just make sure the customer knows it might fail as it's not meant to run in a server environment (rack/cab), and if they agree, why not?

    I think it'll be fine running non-stop, though.

    What would you do to rack it???

    Just sit it on another server???

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    In My Own World
    Posts
    972
    This brings on a whole new meaning to blade servers/appliances :-)

    Tracy Phillips

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Palm Beach, FL
    Posts
    1,095
    Originally posted by The Prohacker
    Just sit it on another server???
    Sure, why not?? heehee

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Dayton, Ohio
    Posts
    4,962
    Originally posted by allera

    Sure, why not?? heehee

    I can see the conversation now to customers:

    Host: Sorry but it seems an accident has happend, and the staff at the datacenter has dropped my laptop...

    Customers: Ok, sorry about that, but what about our server, why is it down???



  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Wichita, Ks, USA
    Posts
    1,984
    i stand by my post that if you put a laptop in a colo situation and used even under a moderate load you would have problems with it very fast.

    Id loved it if you could colo laptops reliably, you can get a nice speced latop for 1200.00 with built in screen and everything and you could fit a couple in 1u space. A decent 1u server costs 1200.00

    but theres a reason no one has though of this yet
    affordablecolo.com carrier grade colocation at a affordable price!
    Charles Baker - Company Operations
    1-866-316-HOST

  11. #11
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Dayton, Ohio
    Posts
    4,962
    Originally posted by cbaker17
    i stand by my post that if you put a laptop in a colo situation and used even under a moderate load you would have problems with it very fast.

    Id loved it if you could colo laptops reliably, you can get a nice speced latop for 1200.00 with built in screen and everything and you could fit a couple in 1u space. A decent 1u server costs 1200.00

    but theres a reason no one has though of this yet

    I have to agree, another way laptops cool is the screen is up and allows heat to transfer up though the keyboard...

    Guess you could make a small sheet metal box to put the laptops in and secure them with strong velcro strips...

    Mind you, this is all half assing it

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    1,745
    Laptops when in a confined situation such as a datacenter will have the tendency to overheat and cause problems.

    As of now, people will say laptops run fine if left on - that they do, but they're not stacked in a rack with another 40 or so other laptops.

    Despite all the powerful airconditioning systems, datacentres can still be quite warm (well, at least those ones I've worked in). Laptops closed up whilst switched on can be asking for trouble.

    When they're open - they're getting ventilation, etc but when they are closed and in a confined space it can become different.

    --Shaun
    Shaun Ewing
    http://shaun.net

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    1,745
    Originally posted by The Prohacker



    I can see the conversation now to customers:

    Host: Sorry but it seems an accident has happend, and the staff at the datacenter has dropped my laptop...

    Customers: Ok, sorry about that, but what about our server, why is it down???


    Rofl - I had a good giggle at that

    --Shaun.
    Shaun Ewing
    http://shaun.net

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Palm Beach, FL
    Posts
    1,095
    Originally posted by The Prohacker
    I have to agree, another way laptops cool is the screen is up and allows heat to transfer up though the keyboard...
    When I was using my laptop for those two years, it acted as my desktop unit. I had my 19" monitor, my keyboard, and my mouse connected to the unit. It sat under a pile of papers and other gunk on my desk.

    Yea, it got hot, but what laptop doesn't? It never skipped a beat.

    Don't get me wrong, colo'ing a laptop is not the wisest thing to do, but I still firmly believe it's fully possible. I'd stick mine into the cab and let you guys monitor it but I use it too much. It's my baby (well one of them, I have lots of babies).

    Maybe I'll stick my dreamcast in there. Hah! Now that's a baby I don't use much anymore... Or maybe the PS2...! The Xbox has a HD, but I'll wait for the $200k linux port until I attempt to host anything off of that sucker.

    Sorry for the OT.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    57
    I can see the conversation now to customers:
    Host: Sorry but it seems an accident has happend, and the staff at the datacenter has dropped my laptop...
    Customers: Ok, sorry about that, but what about our server, why is it down???


    phugo what kind of laptop you have? if it's from AMD family I found your idea is crazy

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    all over
    Posts
    120
    Originally posted by allera

    I had my laptop running for about 2 years straight before I got the desktop I have now. It's an IBM Thinkpad. I turned off all of the power management features as they got annoying. I still have the laptop and it still works like the day I got it (it gets used frequently).

    Although it is wierd to colo a laptop, I don't think there's anything wrong with it. Just make sure the customer knows it might fail as it's not meant to run in a server environment (rack/cab), and if they agree, why not?

    I think it'll be fine running non-stop, though.
    Nobody ever got fired for buying IBM. I love my 600{x,e}s.

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Palm Beach, FL
    Posts
    1,095
    Originally posted by manmythlgnd
    Nobody ever got fired for buying IBM. I love my 600{x,e}s.
    I've got the 1720i (I got the first one my nearest CompUSA got in stock -- I can almost give you the exact date from memory). It's supposed to be similar to a 300 or something (that's what I have to compare it to to get parts or support on it, which is rare indeed).

    That laptop will stay with me until it dies (or I die, whichever comes first).

  18. #18
    Originally posted by xlhosting



    phugo what kind of laptop you have? if it's from AMD family I found your idea is crazy
    HP Pavilion N5310, Intel Celeron 750 Mhz, 128 Mb Ram, Linux Red hat 7.2 and 10 GB HD

  19. #19
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    433
    What does the manufacturer say?

    Does it say this is not to be use in a server environment? or you can't leave it on 24/7?

    If not and its under warrenty, i'd go for it, if it died, warrenty is the name.

    Before my cable provider prevented my from hosting service on my cable connection I use to run my lappy 24/7 Toshiba 2800 no problems, but it didn't have anything else around it.

  20. #20
    warrenty will pay the money i will lose if its down?, i dont care about the laptop
    www.rackfive.com
    Aquired by Data Provider LLC.

  21. #21
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    433
    Originally posted by phugo
    warrenty will pay the money i will lose if its down?, i dont care about the laptop
    No, but surely if you are hosting a server co-lo you have some sort of backup puta?

    286, 486, anything?

    Something to at least say what happened to the server and catch email?

    Anything!!!?


  22. #22
    i have a server in rackshack and i will use it as main server.. laptop for backups
    Last edited by RackFive; 08-04-2002 at 11:28 PM.
    www.rackfive.com
    Aquired by Data Provider LLC.

  23. #23
    edited.. sorry for post it 2 times
    Last edited by RackFive; 08-04-2002 at 11:28 PM.

  24. #24
    how to delete posts?

  25. #25
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    433
    Originally posted by phugo
    how to delete posts?
    Click on edit/delete in bottom right corner of post, up top click in box to delete

  26. #26
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    433
    Originally posted by phugo
    i have a server in rackshack and i will use it as main server.. laptop for backups
    Then I think you will be fine with this kind of setup.

  27. #27
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    186
    Send me your laptop and I'll send you a 486 you can use.
    - joey

  28. #28
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    1,745
    Originally posted by Joey
    Send me your laptop and I'll send you a 486 you can use.
    I'll offer something even better. A Tandy Color Deluxe which would probably fit in a 2U space and comes with many fantastic features including:
    - Built in keyboard!
    - Cheap and easy *cassette tape* backup system.
    - An incredibly fast 4.77mhz processor (I think that was the speed - but I may be confused).
    - and much, much more!



    --Shaun
    Shaun Ewing
    http://shaun.net

  29. #29
    no thx, i dont want take avantage of you good people
    www.rackfive.com
    Aquired by Data Provider LLC.

  30. #30
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    57
    HP Pavilion N5310, Intel Celeron 750 Mhz, 128 Mb Ram, Linux Red hat 7.2 and 10 GB HD
    I am not sure, but probably this laptop works fine in server room. Some time ago I have one like this, and it never overheated. In any way - try and let us know results

  31. #31
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    431
    not fair, you guys have laptops to test colo with and i dont even have a laptop to travel around with....... yet! (give me a month or two;-) )
    Jordan Bouvier

  32. #32
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Posts
    320
    I use my laptop every day. It is a dell insprion 7000 and was the first with a 15" monitor at the time. Funny to me, it only has a p3 333 Mhz and 128 MB ram.. at the time that was huge. To run a few design programs like photoshop and dreamweaver on this is amazing.... still performs great and to me runs better than my new HP 1.2 Ghz in my office with both programs running.

  33. #33
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    1,745
    I always used laptops. I ditched the desktop a few years ago.

    My main laptop is a Toshiba Satellite. 1.1ghz w/256mb ram and 20gb HDD - I am using that now. It runs like a charm

    I've also got a Dell Latitude on my desk - but I don't use that much.

    --Shaun
    Shaun Ewing
    http://shaun.net

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •