Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    CT
    Posts
    1,621

    Extreme switches question(s)

    Hi guys,

    Will I be able to cap bandwith with Extreme Summit48? Say, I want to cap port 1 at 512Kbps, port 2 at 2Mbps, and the uplink port at 10Mbps, etc ...

    Thanks ... that's my first question, more questions may come later

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    St. Louis, MO
    Posts
    2,508
    Yep!

    From Extreme's site:
    Policy-Based QoS, including bandwidth management, prioritization and congestion control
    Mike @ Xiolink.com
    http://www.xiolink.com 1-877-4-XIOLINK
    Advanced Managed Microsoft Hosting
    "Your data... always within reach"

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    CT
    Posts
    1,621
    Thank you rackmy,

    I saw that line too, but I am just not 100% sure if bandwith management there means exactly the ability to cap bandwith per port.

    Have you had experience with Summit48 and you know for sure that you can do bandwith capping with it?

    Thank you again ...

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    CT
    Posts
    1,621
    btw, note that summit48 come with basic Layer 3 upgradeable to full Layer 3 (at a cost). Not sure whether the bandwith management comes with the basic layer 3. Would be happy if somebody can verify this for me. Again, thanks ...

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Washington, USA
    Posts
    5,991
    PM ClusterMania, he has a Summit48 switch.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    St. Louis, MO
    Posts
    2,508
    I am 99.999% sure you can do it with the basic L3 os (I know you can with Foundry).
    Mike @ Xiolink.com
    http://www.xiolink.com 1-877-4-XIOLINK
    Advanced Managed Microsoft Hosting
    "Your data... always within reach"

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    CT
    Posts
    1,621
    dang, I need the 0.001% uncertainty left out
    Too bad it's weekend, I would just call their sales but I guess I will have to wait till monday ...

    so rackmy, what switches are you using?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    St. Louis, MO
    Posts
    2,508
    We use a variety, lots of Foundry (NetIrons, FastIrons, ServerIrons), Lots of HP 2524s and a few others.
    Mike @ Xiolink.com
    http://www.xiolink.com 1-877-4-XIOLINK
    Advanced Managed Microsoft Hosting
    "Your data... always within reach"

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    St. Louis, MO
    Posts
    2,508
    I just read the manual quickly and it does look like you can rate limit by ACL or by a QOS policy.
    Mike @ Xiolink.com
    http://www.xiolink.com 1-877-4-XIOLINK
    Advanced Managed Microsoft Hosting
    "Your data... always within reach"

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    CT
    Posts
    1,621
    Hi rackmy, thanks again.

    I wonder how Foundry is compared to Extreme (can be a long debate here ). But does Foundry FastIron Workgroup FWS24 also do bandwith capping?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •