My Gripe with Control Panels (Ensim, CPanel)

Ok...

So, I'm not an expert at Linux/Server management... I've picked up things as I've gone along. Learned how to do enough to run a server, install/compile things I need, make apache modifications, domain settings etc... basically run a site on a dedicated server. This was on a RedHat system. I did use Webmin for a few of the mail configuations.

So, I signed up for an Ensim server over at rackshack for testing purposes... just to see how things go... and just now, I've gotten a CPanel machine at FastServers.net.

My big gripe with both of these packages is that while they TRY to help you out... the biggest problem is that they don't do _quite_ enough or have significant bugs which force you to resort to the "old school" method... the moment that happens - you've lost any advantage of using such a control panel...

Suddenly, you're trying to become the expert at a proprietary system... you're searching Ensim and CPanel message boards, looking for someone who has the same cryptic problem that you have... and you find out you end up having to go to the shell anyhow to fix the problem.... and then, you work around the control panel, so you can't use it again for that particular setting.

huh? Does anyone see the madness?

arn

why don't you give plesk a try?
    spam --> /dev/null

Re: My Gripe with Control Panels (Ensim, CPanel)

Originally posted by arn
    Ok...

So, I'm not an expert at Linux/Server management... I've picked up things as I've gone along. Learned how to do enough to run a server, install/compile things I need, make apache modifications, domain settings etc... basically run a site on a dedicated server. This was on a RedHat system. I did use Webmin for a few of the mail configuations.

So, I signed up for an Ensim server over at rackshack for testing purposes... just to see how things go... and just now, I've gotten a CPanel machine at FastServers.net.