Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 22
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Posts
    145

    * heads up...iis6.0!

    Heads up people, looks like microsoft HAS already deployed their new web server into production, a.k.a. IIS6.0

    http://uptime.netcraft.com/up/graph/....microsoft.com

    I heard about this on another forum. This should generate some interest
    spam --> /dev/null

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    180
    unknown OS

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    3,124
    Originally posted by MTG
    unknown OS
    I'm willing to bet is a Windows based machine... Unless they have made a unique version of iis for their use and are running it on a *nix system...

    Personally, I've grown quite fond of Apache...
    Glioblastoma Multiforme (GBM) Brain Cancer Awareness. Gray Matters! My (quick) Story of supporting someone close who has it.
    Incurable, 6-18 months prognosis, no survivors longer than 3 years.
    Don't like what I say? Ignore me.

  4. #4
    it's probabbly the new .net stuff...

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Washington, USA
    Posts
    5,991
    The 'unknown' is caused by the massive amount firewalling, and load balancing to keep their servers up.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Cheltenham
    Posts
    2,617
    i read somewhere, i think it was computer weekly or something along those lines, that they run a heavily moded version of win 2000 as they get hacked so often. that may be why it comes up unknown.

    or what JTY said. eithers good.
    l 201TB.com • 201TB bandwidth as standard in three USA DC’s. KVMoIP, auto reboot & OS install all included - Now available in the Netherlands!
    l udedi.com • UK, USA & NL unmetered 100mb & 1GB 100TB premium bandwidth servers
    l Assiva Ltd • UK Shared & Reseller LiteSpeed • 10 years of hosting • R1Soft

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Scotland, UK
    Posts
    2,687
    Microsoft run a mixture of systems on microsoft.com and partner sites, however it is all 100% Microsoft. They use Compaq Proliant and Dell PowerEdge Servers.

    Currently they are running Windows .NET with IIS 6.0 and Windows 2000 Advanced Server with IIS 5.0 in clusters.

    They did the same thing when Windows 2000 went into beta testing, they ran part of the network on NT4 and part on Win2k beta.

    However, one point I should make here, when they run beta software they have the Windows development team standing by encase anything goes wrong. So it's not like just anyone beta testing. It is also good as it helps iron out most of the bugs before final release. They don't however run their whole network on .NET/IIS 6.0.

    They have actually been using IIS 6.0 on production servers since the fall of 2001, so it's nothing new
    Last edited by Rochen; 08-02-2002 at 06:47 PM.
    Chris Adams - CEO - Rochen Ltd. - chris (at) rochen (dot) com

    Now offering both US & UK premium business hosting, reseller hosting and managed virtualized services.
    rochen.com | rochen.co.uk | blog.rochen.com | forums.rochen.com | Twitter: @rochenhost

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Cheltenham
    Posts
    2,617
    is there anything you don't know rochen?
    l 201TB.com • 201TB bandwidth as standard in three USA DC’s. KVMoIP, auto reboot & OS install all included - Now available in the Netherlands!
    l udedi.com • UK, USA & NL unmetered 100mb & 1GB 100TB premium bandwidth servers
    l Assiva Ltd • UK Shared & Reseller LiteSpeed • 10 years of hosting • R1Soft

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Posts
    929
    Where babies come from

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Dayton, Ohio
    Posts
    4,903
    Originally posted by rochen
    Microsoft run a mixture of systems on microsoft.com and partner sites, however it is all 100% Microsoft. They use Compaq Proliant and Dell PowerEdge Servers.

    Yeah, looks like hotmail finally moved off the qmail servers

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Scotland, UK
    Posts
    2,687
    is there anything you don't know rochen?
    Where babies come from


    Originally posted by The Prohacker


    Yeah, looks like hotmail finally moved off the qmail servers
    Yeah, I used to have one of the old accounts on there, the SPAM has gone up and up ever since my account got moved
    Chris Adams - CEO - Rochen Ltd. - chris (at) rochen (dot) com

    Now offering both US & UK premium business hosting, reseller hosting and managed virtualized services.
    rochen.com | rochen.co.uk | blog.rochen.com | forums.rochen.com | Twitter: @rochenhost

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Posts
    929
    Man the amount of hotmail spam is untrue. I wanna know how they get your address

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Scotland, UK
    Posts
    2,687
    Originally posted by The Laughing Cow
    Man the amount of hotmail spam is untrue. I wanna know how they get your address
    I know, I was just thinking the same because I am not listed and never have been listed in the hotmail or any directory. I am also not subscribed to any of the MSN Newsletters. I don't use hotmail that much, so it doesn't really bother me. Maybe Bill has been selling the addresses in bulk on the side for a few billion
    Chris Adams - CEO - Rochen Ltd. - chris (at) rochen (dot) com

    Now offering both US & UK premium business hosting, reseller hosting and managed virtualized services.
    rochen.com | rochen.co.uk | blog.rochen.com | forums.rochen.com | Twitter: @rochenhost

  14. #14
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Dayton, Ohio
    Posts
    4,903
    Originally posted by The Laughing Cow
    Man the amount of hotmail spam is untrue. I wanna know how they get your address
    Sometimes MS has to 'reset' their database, and your settings to stay out of the public dir's get set to yes instead of no

    Or an accident happens, and they all default to yes

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    St. Louis, MO
    Posts
    2,508
    The 'unknown' is caused by the massive amount firewalling, and load balancing to keep their servers up.
    Yeah... That's it....
    Mike @ Xiolink.com
    http://www.xiolink.com 1-877-4-XIOLINK
    Advanced Managed Microsoft Hosting
    "Your data... always within reach"

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •