Responsiblity for the in-addr

Can I have your input on drafting up some instructinos to pass to an webhost on what they must do to make me responsible for the reverse DNS of IP's assigned to me.

I have little experience of how reverse dns works in the internet world, I know what happens locally, but im unsure of what constraints I am under when people query there DNS and the root servers tell them where to go, I assume its for a large IP block or something, one DNS server for that block, in the root hints.

So how to get can I be responsible for reverse dns on a few ips in the internet world ?

You should ask your provider to see if they allow this. All then need to do is create CNAME PTR records and point each IP address to your name server.

Hope that helps!
    Mike @ Xiolink.com
    http://www.xiolink.com 1-877-4-XIOLINK
    Advanced Managed Microsoft Hosting
    "Your data... always within reach"

Im 99.999% sure they will do it for me

Anyhows, this CNAME PTR, thats a new one for me, is it just like normal CNAME ?

Would the entry look like this or something ?

138 IN CNAME PTR admin.mghost.net.

admin.mghost.net being the dns name of the nameserver responsible.

You need them subdelegate the reverse dns to your own nameservers.

There are plenty of resources for fragmenting reverse zones, and they are usually in the form of 0-xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx.in-addr.arpa rather than xxx.xxx.xxx.in-addr.arpa

There is not enough room here to explain, so read up and learn.

If youd care to share some links, that could prove to be "useful".